A thoughtful and personal exploration of games

Aveline Assassin – Assassin’s Creed: Liberation HD


Yesterday I picked up Assassin’s Creed: Liberation HD on Steam and it’s incredibly fun.

I want to start out saying that the primary thing that attracted me to this game over AC3 or 4 is that the main character is a French-African woman, born of a slave, but saved from that life by a good father. Her mother vanishes one day and leaves a mystery that spans the game. Aveline is a wonderful character and is completely awesome.

Mechanically speaking, it plays just like I’d expect a modern AC game to play. It’s a significant improvement over the first couple of AC games as free running and combat are much more fluid and dynamic. It even has a nifty built in mini-game where you send trade ships with goods to varying ports and you can make quite a bit of money. I’ve only had a couple of issues playing, one being that the game locked up once and the other where the cursor vanishes if I try to do the trading thing using any of the shops I’ve purchased instead of the primary desk at my headquarters. I especially like the persona mechanic where you essentially change how your character is played and perceived in the world by switching between the Lady Persona, Assassin Persona, and Slave Persona. You generate and reduce notoriety differently depending on which persona you currently are wearing and it adds an incredible level of depth to the game (also satisfying my personal love for swapping costumes based on my mood).

Graphically, the game is beautiful and definitely holds up to its triple-A family members. I have all the settings maxed out and it’s just lovely. The draw distances are a little short, but I’m okay with that. I spend most of my time on the streets amongst the people anyway.

I have quite a bit of experience with the Assassin’s Creed series and I’m particularly thrilled to finally have a game where the main character is female. This is one of those games where the female protagonist really carries the story. She’s never portrayed as frail, weak willed, or any of those stereotypical feminine things that TV or some games likes to force feed us. She’s independent, headstrong, and she really knows what she wants from life. In the Lady persona, she uses men just like she uses the environment, as a stepping stone to another location or goal. In the Slave persona, she manipulates the public perception that a slave wouldn’t be smart or capable enough to slip in anywhere. She’s never attired in a way that would reveal too much of her form and she’s always dressed practically. I absolutely adore the character of Aveline. She’s quickly outshone Connor and Altair and she’s on par with Ezio for me (I really loved being Ezio).

Well done Ubisoft. Thanks for a quality story with a quality female protagonist. I can’t wait to get back to the game.

Until next time!

– Thomas

P.S. “I stand with those who stand with me. I lure my prey through the guise of a lady. I escape unnoticed through the veil of a slave. And though I may conceal my identity, one thing is certain: commit injustice in this world, and I’ll send you to the next. I am Aveline de Grandpré, I am an Assassin, and I fight for liberation.” – Aveline de Grandpré

Leave a Reply

