A thoughtful and personal exploration of games

Rage Quitting


There are few games that upset me so much that I’ll just up and quit. Very few.

I do my best to not be in the position to rage quit a game. The problem isn’t with the game in those situations, it resides in me. Recognizing that, however, doesn’t help anything when I’m just so angry.

The other day I was playing Civilization IV and I had built up a pretty decent cluster of cities on a landmass that had a natural bottleneck and the other side of that bottleneck housed the French (I honestly don’t recall which civilization I was). Anyway, if you ignore and rebuff enemy civs in the game for long enough, eventually they just randomly declare war on you. Well, the French did and AFTER building up this incredible mass of sacrificial lambs to throw against my well defended bottleneck city. I successfully fended them off for a while, but then the onslaught started and I really hated sitting there watching them wear down my defenders only for the damnable French to eventually win the fight. That was infuriating and I just went, “NO” and quit the game.

See, that’s why I like island games. Tragically this one didn’t work out for me.

When I’m in a foul mood I typically avoid games I know will irritate me further, like World of Warplanes/Tanks or DC Universe Online. Games where you’re going fine and then BAM you’re dead like in Awesomenauts or MechWarrior Online. I just have to hold off and avoid those situations that would exacerbate my bad mood.

I have to take care of me, you know? I absolutely hate getting mad at games and I resorted to cooling off while playing Tiny Death Star. Fantastic for cooling off and I highly recommend it.

Anyway, that’s all I have for today. Nothing too intensive. Just relax, enjoy, and don’t let the game get you down!

Until next time!

– Elorfin

P.S. “Do not meddle in the affairs of wizards, for they are subtle and quick to anger.” – Gildor, The Fellowship of the Ring.

Leave a Reply

