A thoughtful and personal exploration of games

Nothing but Dragons


Aside from brief forays into Borderlands 2 and Lord of the Rings Online, I’ve spent all my time since New Year’s Day playing Dragon Age: Origins. Yes, I was in the Awakening DLC earlier last week, but a bug deprived me of all my equipment and like a fool I forgot to save regularly enough, so I got mad, exited the game, and an hour or so later made an Elven Mage.

I beat the game AGAIN as the Elven Mage and I’m most of the way through the Awakening DLC now.

The gameplay changes drastically with each class and the stories are so different (well, more or less). As a mage, I’m treated differently because of that, but also occasionally because I’m an elf. That said, it feels like people see the mage part most and elf part least (helps her ears are covered by her hair).

Anyway, I’m hoping to finish Awakening soon and maybe I’ll pop into the other DLCs in the near future.

On the LOTRO front, I’m moderately into it again if only because my friends have shown interest again. One friend stopped playing because I did and he’s several levels and most of Moria behind me, but I have no problems going back and helping him out (it helps me build up resources, so no complaints here). Further, LOTRO is just a fun group game. It helps my Captain is very party friendly, especially considering he was built for it.

I’m starting to itch for different gameplay, so I’m going to be fortunate if I get through Awakening before I start in on spending free time in another game.

Oh, in the nature of full disclosure, according to Origin, I’ve spent 131 hours playing Dragon Age: Origins. Yeah. Hence why I think I’m starting to pull away.

Until next time!

– Elorfin

P.S. “All I want is a pretty girl, a decent meal, and the right to shoot lightning at fools.” – Anders, Dragon Age: Awakening

Leave a Reply

