A thoughtful and personal exploration of games

An Age of Dragons


This Wednesday, I picked up Dragon Age: Origins Ultimate Edition on Origin (lots of that word these days). Let’s just say, holy wow.

I played through a bunch of introductions in order to find one that resonated with me best and wound up beating the game as a Dwarven Noble Rogue. I specialized in dual-wielding and picking locks. I can’t stand walking past all those lovely treasure chests and locked doors!

I beat the main campaign this morning and I’ve started in on the DLC called Awakening. It’s kept my attention thus far and I’m really enraptured by the world of Dragon Age.

This is one of those games that I missed out on when it came out because I was so busy with my own stuff that was going on. It really launched under my radar. My overall impression is that it’s the logical extension of the gameplay from Baldur’s Gate. Actually, you could point at the lineage as being a combination of Baldur’s Gate, Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic, Neverwinter Nights, and a fair dash of Final Fantasy XII (for fun and because the tactics mechanic feels like it came from there). Dragon Age feels like the logical extension of gameplay mechanics from those prior Bioware ventures and it flows very nicely for one who’s played them all.

The story is extremely comprehensive in the way that Bioware seems to have the market cornered, I truly came to appreciate my companions in the main game (and miss many of them terribly in the DLC), and I think I’m hooked on another Bioware franchise. There could be worse fates I suppose.

Anyway, I have it minimized in the background while I write this and it’s beckoning to me. Apparently as the Warden-Commander, there are some fires I must put out. By the way, when people say “Warden-Commander” I’m always thinking “Shepard-Commander” as Legion used to say. I guess Mass Effect really got to me.

Until next time!

– Elorfin

P.S. “Have you ever licked a lamp post in winter?” – Alistair

Leave a Reply

