A thoughtful and personal exploration of games

Power Problems


My laptop has an issue. I can fix it, but I feel like I’m only addressing the symptoms rather than the problem itself.

It started at the beginning of November. Or maybe late October. I can’t remember and my complaints on my social media sites have mysteriously become hard to find.

The screen gets dark. The machine is no longer charging. I unplugged the power supply and let it discharge then I plugged it back in. A few minutes later, same problem.

I restarted my machine. A few minutes later, same problem.

So, after researching all over, I found a solution:

Shut down. Disconnect the power. Take off the baseplate. Remove the battery. Hold the power button for 30 seconds. Replace the battery. Replace the baseplate. Plug it back in. Turn it back on.

It works, but like I said earlier, I’m addressing the symptom, not the actual problem. I’m going back and forth a bit on Twitter with Alienware Tech Support right now, so this is what’s dominating my thinking.

Oh, it’s happened a total of three times since I got the computer. Like I said, starting in late October/early November, once then, once in about mid-November, and again today right as I was gearing up to write this.

Regarding my gaming, in Borderlands 2 I’m level 44 with my beloved Mechromancer and I’ve pretty much done everything I can do in Normal. I need to finish Torgue’s Campaign of Carnage and that’s really it (aside from some raid bosses and level 50 things… yuck).

I reinstalled Freelancer the other day. Aside from not being able to run it higher than 1280×960 resolution (it came out in 2003, cut it some slack), it’s running perfectly. I can’t play multiplayer, but that’s more Microsoft shutting down the global list servers back in 2008 rather than the fact that the game stopped generating codes for remembering my characters (well, that too). Still, single player works totally fine.

Well, looks like there’s a BIOS update for my Terra so that’s what I’ve got to do right now.

Until next time!

– Elorfin

P.S. “We live in a time when the words impossible and unsolvable are no longer part of the scientific community’s vocabulary. Each day we move closer to trials that will not just minimize the symptoms of disease and injury but eliminate them.” – Christopher Reeve

Leave a Reply

