A thoughtful and personal exploration of games

Catching up on LOTRO


This past week I’ve been dabbling all over. Some Mass Effect 3 (by request), Borderlands 2, XCOM Enemy Within, Tiny Death Star, and quite a lot of Lord of the Rings Online.

It’s hard to relate what I’ve been up to since the Helm’s Deep expansion dropped for LOTRO, but I’ll give it a shot.

Mainly, I’ve just been doing deeds and knocking out old quests from west of the Misty Mountains (everything east of the Misties is still more or less on level for my 66th level Captain). It’s a bit tedious, but it’s necessary to learn how to play my character properly to give myself time to adjust to the fewer skills but tighter specialization. I’ve gone with the Leader of Men trait tree/path/whatever. It’s paid off a bit as I’ve got a lot of Morale (HP) and I retained some of the abilities I’ve really enjoyed using in the past. Namely, stunning enemies with Routing Cry. Also, I can move away from halberds if I want to, which I would if I could find a level 66 legendary I wanted (I don’t want DAGGERS!).

I like the changes. No two characters are basically the same any more. This is a really flexible system and I’m a pretty big fan. I think Friday I’ll try and record some footage of me doing something in LOTRO. Not sure what yet, but I’m hoping to show SOMETHING especially now that I’m playing this lovely game on a new machine and everything looks so PRETTY.

Today I’m planning on relaxing and getting in some Borderlands 2. I still have the Hammerlock DLC to complete and the hilarious Torgue’s Campaign to wrap with a friend. Further, another friend accidentally lost his sniper rifle and needs help finding a new one. Never a decent weapon around when you accidentally destroy your old one.

Until next time!

– Elorfin

P.S. “Learning is a kind of natural food for the mind.” – Cicero

Leave a Reply

