A thoughtful and personal exploration of games

More Borderlands 2


As I mentioned in last week’s post, I’ve been playing Borderlands 2. As of this writing, I’ve put in 79 hours since last Monday (and it’s still up in the background).

I am quite enamored with the Mechromancer, Gaige, and her summon, Deathtrap. I’ve been focusing on the aptly named “Best Friends Forever” skill tree to augment both myself and my companion and generally make things easier for horsing around.

I’ve discovered that having one of every weapon type (or more appropriately, one of every ammo type) in my inventory can be a life saver. I have spent a good amount of time using the sniper rifle (moreso than in every game I’ve ever played) but I’ve also really enjoyed the pistol and the shotgun. It’s been an adventure to find a decent assault rifle and submachine gun, but I have some pretty good ones right now. I’ve been fortunate enough to find a legendary rocket launcher too, so that’s been fun.

Really, the game is magnificent fun. The commentary my character gives is enjoyable, the challenges are difficult but not impossible to overcome (especially if I’m over leveled for them), and the guns are a thrill to get, to learn, and to use. I can’t recommend this game highly enough for someone who wants the random loot generation of Diablo, the skill tree system of an MMO, and the gameplay of a well made FPS. All that inside a setting that’s a combination of science fiction and wild west with a dash of crazy.

By the way, the writing in this game is pretty top notch. The bad guy, Handsome Jack, has some pretty stellar dialogue and is clearly really a bad guy. Also, I just recently acquired a sniper rifle that berates me as I use it. Pretty clever.

Until next time, here’s hoping I eventually play something else, huh?

– Elorfin

P.S. “Third place. Third place! I built a robot that can turn human beings into jelly with the push of a button and that what’s-his-face gives me THIRD PLACE! in the planet-wide science fair. At least around here people appreciate my talents.” – Gaige

One response

  1. My sentiments exactly. The last two single player games I’ve actually finished multiple times in the last couple of years are Borderlands 1 & 2. Both games are very different (art style) and to me very polished.

    November 6, 2013 at 6:25 AM

Leave a Reply

