A thoughtful and personal exploration of games

Rebuilding a Build – Diablo III


This past weekend I was busy addressing my concerns with my Critical Mass/Archon Wizard build. See, after last weeks rebuild, I was having a problem with falling out of Archon and then it was taking too long to get back into it. Some bad guys (especially in higher monster power levels) have way too many hit points and they were outlasting the duration of my Archon power.

It was back to the drawing board.

First, I looked at what was a super popular build. Then I read about it in a multitude of places. Then I wondered how fun it was and how feasible it was to pull off a diet version of it so I could take it for a spin around the block. After spending a couple hundred thousand gold on the Auction Hall, I figured it was more fun than what I was playing and so…

Here we are, a new build and I replaced all but three pieces of equipment. I do a lot less damage than I used to, but I can handle the toughest of bad guys with a minimum of issues. It’s far from perfect, but what I need now is all the equipment I have with some extra all resist and armor (read: I need to replace all my gear with better stuff). That will take a while.

And now for the gibberish speak…

I shifted from using Shocking Pulse/Living Lightning and Archon as my only attack powers to using Energy Twister/Wicked Wind, Frost Nova, Diamond Skin/Diamond Shards, and Energy Blast to hurt things. Oh, I can’t forget Storm Armor/Shocking Aspect.

I now have a 45.5% critical hit chance with 2.79 attacks per second. Using Critical Mass (which gives me a chance to cooldown all my abilities 1 second faster for every critical hit) in combination with Energy Twister/Wicked Wind (which hits a lot of times over 6 seconds and is dependent on a high attack per second value), I’m able to spam Frost Nova to keep nearly everything around me frozen.

Last night I played with a few friends and to say I’m party friendly is to understate it at best. We were constantly running into elites that had Arcane Enchanted as a suffix and as a result, there was a need for me to isolate one or two of them and freeze-lock them to keep them from murdering us with purple death rays.

I was reading a thread last night and it said that I should have approximately 85% resistances down the board and when I looked at my values they were all a pitiful 55-60%. You’d think this wouldn’t be that big a difference but it is. I get one-shotted a LOT by elites if I’m not freeze locking them (and sometimes they get out and get me anyway). Last night I tried to freeze-lock The Skeleton King on MP5 and he nailed me two or three times. It was tragic but a lesson learned.

End result of last night’s gameplay: I need more resistances through more armor, more strength, and more “all resist” values. I need more critical hit chance and critical hit damage. I need more intelligence and vitality where I can. All of these goals are understandable, but cost a considerable amount of gold. While I do have fun playing the game, I’m not willing to play it every time I sit down to game. For example, right now I’m struggling with playing Mass Effect 3 multiplayer, Diablo 3, or Star Wars: The Old Republic and the first two are losing out right now.

All that said, the take away point here is that I love redesigning my characters from time to time and having enough funds in Diablo is really the only limiting factor (come March it won’t be the only issue since the Auction Hall is closing). It’s great to analyze my play and figure out how I can have more fun. I dare say it’s almost more fun than the play itself sometimes.

Until next time!

– Elorfin

P.S. “You cannot dream yourself into a character; you must hammer and forge yourself one.” – Henry David Thoreau

2 responses

  1. Irving De la Rosa

    Playing with those skills must be a real pain for your fingers. Spamming Frost Nova, Explosive Blast and Diamond Skin is really painful over time. It’s not a challenge against monsters anymore but against your own body.

    October 21, 2013 at 12:05 PM

    • Hah, yeah, I just have to mind myself a bit and take it easy sometimes.

      October 21, 2013 at 12:10 PM

Leave a Reply

