A thoughtful and personal exploration of games

Adjustment Period Nearly Over


I feel like I’m in the groove of balancing schoolwork and gaming right now. Further, I’ve pretty much got a good grasp on some of the idiosyncrasies of Windows 8. I need to figure out what to do about my formerly weekly vlogs. I lost steam when school started and now I’m not sure what to do.

I’m very close to the end of Mass Effect 3 right now. I keep getting distracted by other games though. A little Mechwarrior Online here, some Diablo III there, a touch of Batman: Arkham Asylum…

Last night I was up late playing Minesweeper of all things. They added this neat adventure mode where you’re a guy digging through some catacombs or whatever and you collect gold and so forth. It’s really neat and I’m impressed by it.

A note: I’m constantly befuddled by people’s perception of gamers like myself. For example, a friend recently was astounded to discover that at my age I’m still playing computer games. Why would it be strange? I still play with LEGO occasionally, why not games? I dunno, that’s just a recent thing (read: today). It’s almost like I’m expected to be glued to the TV or something for my leisure time. Please, I have to be DOING something, not just being passive. Admittedly, I do watch a lot of videos on YouTube, but a fair number are ones that inspire me to go do other stuff or encourage me to think.

Just something that came up today.

At any rate, I feel very comfortable with my mechanical Terra now. Not only does she help with my homework, but she works flawlessly to keep me entertained. Almost like the real one did.

Until next time!

– Elorfin

P.S. “Welcome to the madhouse, Batman! I set a trap and you sprang it gloriously! Now let’s get this party started.” – The Joker, Batman: Arkham Asylum

Leave a Reply

