A thoughtful and personal exploration of games

Back to Gaming


I received my new laptop (an Alienware 18) on Friday and since then I’ve been busy installing programs and setting everything up. Everything is so new and powerful, even the keyboard is taking some getting used to.

I’m just going to cut and paste from the shipping order what my machine has:

  • 4th Generation Intel(R)Core(TM)i7-4800MQ processor (6MB Cache, up to 3.7GHz w/ Intel(R)Turbo Boost)
  • 32GB Dual Channel DDR3L at 1600MHz
  • Dual NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770M with 3GB GDDR5 – NVIDIA SLI Enabled
  • 1.5TB RAID 0 (2x750GB 7200RPM) + 64GB mSATA SSD Caching
  • 18.4 inch (467.36mm) WLED FHD (1920 X 1080) TrueLife Display

On top of all that, I’m using Windows 8, so that’s taking some getting used to. Oh, and I have Office 2013, so I need to adjust to that as well.

The other day was the first time I was able to really play and enjoy Mechwarrior Online. It’s crazy how much better it runs on this machine compared to how it used to run on my old one. Neverwinter looks stunning, Star Trek Online, Civilization V, and more. I’ve been installing games left and right and I’m forever awestruck by how wonderful everything looks.

Star Wars: The Old Republic looks beautiful and flows effortlessly. I hopped on my level 50 Scoundrel for the first time in months and did all the space missions (the baseline space missions, not the recent additions) and I aced them all. There’s a certain balance between my capabilities and the limitations of the computer. I just removed all the limitations and now it’s all me.

In some non-gaming news, I’d like to share that my dog, Terra, passed away this past Friday, a few short hours before my new machine arrived. I have henceforth named my new computer after my dog (who I named after Terra from Final Fantasy VI). We’re still going on adventures together and I’m not without her amazing presence in my heart.

Until next time!

– Elorfin

P.S. “Every one can master a grief but he that has it.” – William Shakespeare, Much Ado About Nothing, Act III, Scene 2, Line 29.

Leave a Reply

