A thoughtful and personal exploration of games

A Bit of Comfort Gaming – Final Fantasy III


The last few days have been punctuated with some emulation gaming. Specifically Final Fantasy III (the American release of Final Fantasy VI for the Super Nintendo). Before you complain about it, I’d like to point out that yes, I do own a physical copy of the game, I just don’t have a Super Nintendo. Also my cartridge is busted (the previous owner used the Game Genie or whatever far too often apparently).

Anyway, this is the first time I’ve played the game while using a walkthrough. I’m finding all sorts of things I’ve missed over the years in my many replays. Also, I was apparently unaware of a lot of the easier ways of doing things, like using Gau or Mog at all. Seriously, I’d get them and shelve them because back then I perceived getting their specials working right to be too much of a hassle. Nowadays, I’m thrilled to announce I’ve currently got a party with Terra, Mog, Sabin, and Gau as we get ready to knock on the front door of the Esper world.

I genuinely didn’t know how powerful Gau was with a bit of time invested in getting rages for him to use. Likewise, I didn’t use to bother with the whole front row/back row mechanic. This playthrough of the game is ridiculously easy now that I’m taking the walkthrough’s advice. Oh, that walkthrough is brilliantly written and you can find it here. The author has a great sense of humor.

I’m glad I can go back now and enjoy a game older than a significant portion of today’s gaming community (it came out in 1994 or so). Emulation isn’t all bad, but there’s a very few games I’d bother playing through it (like Final Fantasy III or V, but Chrono Trigger is available on multiple platforms today, so… yeah).

Anyway, I have some work to do in Star Trek Online, so until next time!

– Elorfin

P.S. “I won’t leave you until your memory returns!! By the way, this secret entrance might be useful some day. Don’t forget about it!” – Locke to Terra (Yeah, you use that entrance again, but wow, expecting an amnesiac to remember it? Classy guy that Locke.)

P.P.S. Final Fantasy III/VI is in fact my favorite Final Fantasy game. I even named my dog Terra.

Leave a Reply

