A thoughtful and personal exploration of games

Cryptic Time Domination – STO and Neverwinter


This past week has been Star Trek Online and Neverwinter all day every day. With the introduction of Legacy of Romulus, my friends have recently been playing STO. I started playing STO again a few days before Legacy dropped so that I could get things going again (building up reputation marks, dilithium, and personal desire to play the game).

In Star Trek Online I’ve been focused on my main, Vyris, and the U.S.S. Iowa-B. Mainly I’ve been concerned with the reputation system. I only have a few more days left of work to top out the New Romulus and Task Force Omega tiers and I’ve made significant headway into the Nukara Strikeforce tiers.

In Neverwinter, I finally got past the hump in playing my Cleric (had to get help from a couple of friends) and plowed through Rothe Valley. I’m just starting Mt. Hotenow and I’m told it’s harder than the previous zone, so I’m understandably nervous. Further, my Guardian Fighter is now level 47 or so and is a lot… well, not necessarily EASIER to play, but I make significant headway whenever I play.

I keep using the gateway almost every day to push along all my characters professions. It’s quite a lot of fun for me as I enjoy that sort of stuff.

A note on the Romulan content: It’s amazingly well done. To compensate for the fact that the Romulans and Remans aren’t able to be a full faction in the sense that the Federation and the Klingons are, they certainly have considerable uniqueness about them. It’s well executed and I’m pleased with how it turned out. This does mean that the Romulan faction won’t be getting anywhere near the ship numbers that the other factions have, simply because there’s less there to work with. That said, they don’t NEED the ship numbers because, holy crap, have you SEEN their ships?

That’s where I am these days. Star Trek and Neverwinter are my games of choice… at least for now.

Until next time!

– Elorfin

P.S. “Games lubricate the body and the mind.” – Benjamin Franklin

2 responses

  1. I’m really impressed with the Romulan story line. I’m not certain I can go back to the Federation’s story; this is just more fun.

    I’ve seen you in game a few times, but I think we’re like ships passing in the night — different fleets, etc. If you ever need a wing man, though, let me know.

    May 28, 2013 at 4:10 PM

    • The Romulan story is pretty fantastic, but I’m so close to reaching Tier 5 for New Romulus and Task Force Omega reputation that I’m mainly interested in playing my main. Also, I fly my girl, Iowa. 😀

      If I’m on when you are, go ahead and say hi sometime! I swear, I’m not actively ignoring anyone, there’s just a lot of fly-in text sometimes that I tune out.

      May 31, 2013 at 8:18 AM

Leave a Reply

