A thoughtful and personal exploration of games

Sprinting from Start to Finish – Star Wars: The Old Republic


Last night I hit level 51 and the end of Corellia AND the end of the Sith Inquisitor storyline in Star Wars: The Old Republic. It was good fun.

Seriously, I had a lot of fun playing my Sorcerer. By the time I finished my storyline, I didn’t have any companion storylines finished, one companion had yet to be around for 1000 kills (I was having trouble staying alive so, sorry Talos), and I’m pretty good at the whole “lightning lightning everywhere” approach to combat. So, while there’s still stuff to do (Ilum, Makeb, etc.) I need to take a break from the daily gameplay.

I started Ni’luri’aria on Tuesday, April 16th, and finished her on Sunday, April 28th. So, 51 levels in less than two weeks. Sounds about right, considering I hit level 22 in two days and after the first couple of worlds the level curve slows quite a lot.

I was disappointed (but not entirely surprised) to find out that the devs had removed the advanced gear quests that gave a free set of level 50 equipment. Well, one gave a free set of PVP armor and the other gave a free pile of Tionese crystals so you could buy a full set of PVE armor (almost, they gave 99 and you needed 100). So, I’m cool with this, I just needed to start saving my planetary commendations earlier than I did. I needed about 154 to fully trick myself out in the new level 50 item modifications and I had 68 last night. What I did was I maxed out both my focus and my lightsaber, my belt, and my bracers. Then I hit the auction hall and bought some pretty well priced armorings (10k per? Yes please!) for the rest of my equipment and hunted down some other mods (mods are always unfortunately priced on the Galactic Market so I didn’t get any). Oh, I also grabbed a pair of level 50 lightsaber crystals.

Speaking of equipment, I must’ve been in the mid 20’s when I decided to focus on critical rating. At level 51, my critical rating is such that I currently critically hit about 40% of the time (I think it’s 40.81% right now). When I DO critically hit, I do an extra 77% damage. Not going to lie, it’s super nice.

My strategy with the equipment was to go for all custom stuff early on and just replace the item modifications as I went. It worked remarkably well since they piled all the planet specific commendations into the same “planetary commendation” pool. Also, they kicked up the max you could carry to 100, so that’s a great thing. This allowed me to take the equipment for my companion of the day as the quest reward or the commendation if that choice wasn’t available or sucked really bad.

A small note on the ending of the Sith Inquisitor storyline: while it’s really awesome to become… what I became (hah, no spoilers here!), it has a much less sentimental finish than say the Bounty Hunter or Smuggler ending. At the end of those, I was proud, excited, and sad all at the same time. At the end of this one though, I was mostly proud, but determined and feeling like there was still a ton of work to be done. I’m not going to miss my Sorcerer’s companions the way I definitely miss Mako and crew (also Corso and crew). It’s weird.

While I’m glad for the experience of playing a Sorcerer beginning to end, I’m kind of relieved it’s over. I need a break from SWTOR again and it’s just in time for Neverwinter to become available to the masses tomorrow. Also, I need to start another Let’s Play and I’ve chosen XCOM Enemy Unknown as my next self-inflicted injury. I’ve decided that I’ll play through on Normal difficulty and with Ironman mode active. I think I’ll make the videos about 20 minutes long (30’s too long, 10 too short for XCOM) and we’ll see if I lose or not. I hope I win. I’ll either start recording today or Wednesday (since Monkey Island 2 ends on Thursday).

So, until next time!

– Elorfin

P.S. “I am the future of the Sith Order, and I intend to reshape it in my image. The Empire and the Sith belong to me.” – Ni’luri’aria, aka Darth Occlu

P.P.S. By the way, I finished the game pretty neutral but leaning light side. Net total, positive 550 points or so. I actually hit light side 1 at some point, but that changed pretty shortly thereafter.

2 responses

  1. I’ve only finished the Bounty Hunter’s story, and man is that a great, sentimental ending. I’m not certain any of the other endings can top it — especially something like the Inquisitor’s. “One slave’s rise to power” doesn’t sound very cuddly. (That said, Revel is a great pairing for a female Inquisitor.)

    I don’t know how you did this, personally! I guess an incredible amount of dedication and willpower. I admire your effort!

    May 4, 2013 at 12:20 AM

    • Nah, nothing to do much with dedication or willpower. I have lots of free time on my hands thanks to no job. 😛

      May 6, 2013 at 8:53 AM

Leave a Reply

