A thoughtful and personal exploration of games

My Time Making/Hoping Games Work


The most significant difference between console gaming and computer gaming (aside from the interface) is the ability for console games to just be slapped in and, WOW, LOOK, IT RUNS! Whereas computer games, well, they require a bit of prayer and good luck.

I remember when Final Fantasy VII came out for PC. I didn’t own a Playstation, so I was thrilled that they made it for the platform I DID have. It took me hours to get it running. I don’t recall what was wrong exactly, but I do remember that I had trouble with something having to do with DirectX or something while installing. I heard the Prelude piece from FFVII so many times (it played while the game installed) that I recognize it even today, about 15 years later.

The other night I purchased L.A. Noire on Steam. I prayed hard while the whole 11.7GB or so downloaded and installed. At best, it ran and it was worth every penny of my 20 bucks. At worst I’d have to wait until I got a new computer to play it (which may or may not happen within the next 40 years). I’m fortunate that it ran at all. I’m fortunate that I was able to get it going and that my poor old laptop can bully through these new-fangled games.

My laptop is a Dell Studio 1535 that was purchased in the summer of 2008. It has an Intel Core 2 Duo processor with 2.5 GhZ, I’ve recently upgraded to 4 GB of RAM, it runs Vista, it has a discrete ATI Mobility Radeon HD 3400 video chip with drivers that are 7 versions out of date (they just don’t update it any more I guess), and the CD drive doesn’t seem to want to keep CDs in. I’ve been able to get Star Wars: The Old Republic, Mass Effect 3, Diablo III, and more to run… albeit with reduced settings.

I’ve been coaxing games to run ever since I started gaming. Sometimes I’ve failed, but I win more often than I lose. One game I haven’t been able to run since 2003 or so is this nifty game called Shadow Watch that can’t run without a particular version of Java that doesn’t exist any more AND the processes required are too old for modern Java. Oops. Oh well.

Anyway, that’s my time driving down Memory Lane. I didn’t have much of a point today, but I hope to have something better for next week.

Until next time!

– Elorfin

P.S. “With ordinary talent and extraordinary perseverance, all things are attainable.” – Thomas Buxton

Leave a Reply

