A thoughtful and personal exploration of games

Impression – The Awesomeness of Awesomenauts


It’s been a while since I’ve done an impression piece, so bear with me.

Awesomenauts is a relatively recent addition to my Steam library. It’s one of those “new-fangled” multiplayer online battle arena games (like League of Legends and so forth). I’ve never been particularly drawn to MOBAs but this one caught my eye with its over the top Saturday-morning cartoon style intro that seemed to be pulled straight from my childhood. Also, thanks to the Winter Sale, I was able to pick this game up for cheap and I do not regret it in the slightest.

Each character has a basic attack (ranged or melee, or in the case of one guy a ranged heal), a jump of sorts (some can fly, some can double jump, and others just have a really high basic jump), and two other abilities that are entirely dependent on the character. For example, Gnaw, my favorite right now, has a bite that leaves lingering damage, he can spit acid, and he can leave behind “weedlings” that shoot at things. Each character is completely unique and each character, while easy to pick up, requires a bit of play to truly get the hang of.

Thankfully, they added a practice mode that I’m slowly increasing the difficulty on. I’ve done a couple of quick battles online and I didn’t do so well. I’ll get better one day.

So far there’s three maps (I hear they’re adding a fourth one soon) and twelve unique characters. I’ve tried each of them and they’re all brilliantly designed and require different play styles. For example, the way I play Leon requires a hit-and-fade approach while the way I play Gnaw requires doggedly chasing people down to ensure they’re taking a lot of damage-over-time. A note on Gnaw: I think he’s the only character that puts DoTs on people and thus far I’ve experienced killing people while they’re “safe and secure” in their own base because the bots apparently don’t know how to heal themselves that well. Alas, this might not hold up in multiplayer, but hey, I’ll figure that out when I get there.

The game is a lot of fun and I’m teaching myself a lot of the ins-and-outs of each character so I have an idea of how to play them and how other people might use them against me. Every character is downright deadly in the right hands and I’m a bit squeamish in PvP situations.

Anyway! I highly recommend Awesomenauts for some humorous and enjoyable gameplay. From what I’ve read, this is essentially the gateway drug of MOBA-style games, but I wouldn’t know about that. I’m still not motivated to try League of Legends or any of its siblings. Maybe it’s the whimsy of Awesomenauts that brought me in, but I don’t particularly care… it’s just plain good fun.

Until next time!

– Elorfin

P.S. “Clearing schedule for random acts of violence.” – Derpl Zork’s SUSI (Specialized Universal Secretary Interface) in Awesomenauts.

Leave a Reply

