A thoughtful and personal exploration of games

A Year of Gaming


2012 has been a pretty spectacular year in gaming.

We started it with a brand new MMO, just a couple of weeks after launch – Star Wars: The Old Republic

We got ourselves the conclusion (some might say controversial) to a brilliant trilogy – Mass Effect 3

We were handed a new approach to an old style of gaming (with some hits and misses) – Diablo III

We got a game I’d been waiting over a decade for – XCOM Enemy Unknown

We got patches and downloadable content and expansions. Out of all the games I’ve played this year, I’ve barely played a fraction of all the games that came out.

There was Assassin’s Creed III, Borderlands 2, Torchlight 2, indie games left and right, Final Fantasy XIII-2, Soulcalibur V, Syndicate, Resident Evil 6, Bioshock 2, and SO MANY MORE.

As I said, I’ve barely scratched the surface on all the games that came out this year. Probably because I only have so much time available to me per day and also probably because I don’t have a console newer than a PS2, PSP, and DS.

I’m looking forward to what 2013 has in store for us. There’s a few games on my radar right now that may or may not come out next year: Star Wars 1313, Star Citizen, the Rise of the Hutt Cartel expansion for SWTOR (already preordered!).

Further, in March I’ll be going to PAX East where I’m sure to be exposed to all kinds of other games (as well as coming home with a cold or something).

So, in the meantime…

Happy New Year and Until Next Time!

– Elorfin

P.S. “Take my advice and go back to the time you came from. The future isn’t what it used to be.” – G’Kar, Babylon 5

Leave a Reply

