A thoughtful and personal exploration of games

Another Gaming Sick Day


I had the misfortune of getting a cold recently. Staring at my desktop, I found I didn’t have the energy for MMOs or Mass Effect 3 multiplayer. I didn’t have the head for any strategy games either.

So, what’d I play? Diablo III.

Yeah… I finished Hell difficulty on my Wizard and managed to finish Act 1 on Inferno as well. I’d like to point out that I only died four times: once in the Southern Highlands (to an enemy that when I went to hit Q for my potion, I accidentally hit TAB and opened my map… and that’s how I died), twice in the Northern Highlands to the same “reflects damage” beast group, and once in Leoric’s Hunting Grounds to another “reflects damage” enemy.

Courtesy of this issue with these enemies who reflect damage, I’m quite desperate to find a way to not die. I did a complete overhaul of my skills, but I’m not that keen on it. I want to put my skills back and change Magic Weapon/Force Weapon to Magic Weapon/Blood Magic. The Force Weapon rune adds an extra 5% damage to all attacks (on top of the 10% you get from Magic Weapon). The Blood Magic rune makes it so every attack gives 1.5% healing based on your damage dealt.

I haven’t implemented this idea yet, but as I’m still under the weather, I’m thinking it might happen sometime today. My favorite build might not be the best thing in the world, but it’s fun for me. The new build I propose is just a minor change. I’ll do less damage, but my survivability will probably go up.

Oh, a small reason D3 is great for playing while sick… you can keep playing while you blow your nose.

Until next time!

– Elorfin

P.S. Fezzik: “Why are you wearing a mask? Were you burned by acid or something like that?” Man in Black: “Oh, no, it’s just they’re terribly comfortable, I think everyone will be wearing them in the future.”

Leave a Reply

