A thoughtful and personal exploration of games

Gaming Cravings


I’ve had this hankering to play certain games but I hold off for some reason or other.

I want to play XCOM again, but I’m waiting for the new DLC which will only be playable through a new game (feels a little short sighted, but okay). So I’m holding off on starting a new game until Slingshot comes out, but they haven’t announced a release date and it’s been a month since they announced the DLC at all. No details or communication from the studio does not make me a happy camper and makes me think they aren’t paying attention to the fans. I don’t like thinking that way.

Also, whenever I sit down to play Star Wars: The Old Republic, I feel compelled to play my Bounty Hunter, Saya’fida. She’s the one I’m recording the story missions with for my Let’s Play series on YouTube. Lately I’ve only wanted to play her and when I do, I have to make sure things are set up so that I can record just in case. I have things set up in my room so I can do it in a quiet environment, but sometimes I just don’t feel like playing in my room. It’s a gamble, recording in the living room, but it’s brighter, I can keep an eye on the dogs, and it’s more comfortable. Sometimes I just stare at the SWTOR icon longingly, wanting to play, but holding off because I feel compelled to record. It’s not a bad thing though as it motivates me to push through the game faster than I usually would. I’m LOVING the Bounty Hunter storyline and the videos I’m posting are more for me than anything else because I’m really enjoying watching my own Let’s Play videos.

I caved to a craving the other day though. I started a game from scratch in Mass Effect 3. I typically don’t like that as the “default” story makes some decisions I’m not okay with… typically optional stuff. In this, they let the crew of the Normandy die, the Citadel Council died, I never did any of the DLCs like Lair of the Shadow Broker or Arrival, and so on. There’s a lot of people that just aren’t there that I’m used to seeing and it was a little difficult to push on. I’m doing this playthrough just for fun though. I wanted to play some missions and shoot some bad guys and it’s rather difficult to do so by yourself in multiplayer (I can, but it takes as much luck as skill and so forth).

Anyway, I’m really looking forward to the new Omega DLC coming out for ME3 tomorrow. I really do like Aria T’Loak.

Until next time!

– Elorfin

P.S. “Patience, n. A minor form of despair, disguised as a virtue.” – Ambrose Bierce

Leave a Reply

