A thoughtful and personal exploration of games

Saving Games for Tomorrow


There was a recent Extra Creditz video on PATV that has had me thinking since I watched it. It talked about how there’s no preservation of video games like there’s now preservation of movies or books or paintings or what-have-you. There are games that have not only passed from public consciousness, but they’ve also disappeared entirely from the world.

This is a tragedy and it has to be stopped. So, I’m going to see if I can do something about it.

It won’t be today or tomorrow, but some day. I need to build myself up so that I can take care of this.

The games don’t just need to be preserved, the source code does, the art assets, the music, the scripts, everything needs to be stored and maintained. An environment needs to be created for students to study them, to learn how these pieces of art were made. This “Vault of Gaming” could in fact be a tremendous learning resource for our future game designers, artists, musicians, writers, programmers, and so on.

This is something I’m passionate about. Preserving gaming history for the future is important. There are games that had such an impact on me as a child that no one really talks about today. For example, take a look at Starflight and you’ll see other games that grew in its wake like Mass Effect.

There is art that is lost to time. I wish to act to save what I can. I’m thinking of eventually going back to school to get a graduate degree or two so people would take me seriously. I’m thinking of proposing this non-profit service to the Smithsonian or the federal government in some capacity. I don’t know how it will all work out, but I do know that this is what I want to do.

I’m passionate about games and, while I have no real talent at making them, I can certainly save them for future generations to learn from and enjoy.

Until next time.

– Elorfin

P.S. “Any great work of art … revives and readapts time and space, and the measure of its success is the extent to which it makes you an inhabitant of that world — the extent to which it invites you in and lets you breathe its strange, special air.” – Leonard Bernstein

Leave a Reply

