A thoughtful and personal exploration of games

Challenging Myself – Mass Effect 3


The past few days I’ve been playing a lot of Mass Effect 3 multiplayer. More specifically, I’ve been focusing on the challenge system they released with their last multiplayer DLC. This has encouraged me to push myself outside of my comfort zone a little bit and try a few things I normally wouldn’t.

The other day I did something I never thought I’d do: I soloed a bronze map. I wanted to finish the weekend challenge of getting 75,000 points of Biotic Charge and it was taking forever when playing with a pick-up group. I started my own map, randomly chosen, fighting against the Cerberus faction. I surprised myself with every round that I survived, especially the final extraction where things looked very grim indeed.

How did I succeed? I think it was a combination of luck, constant movement, and not being afraid to run away. Oh, also, I didn’t dither around when it came to using my missiles. I never got taken down once. It got hairy sometimes, but overall it was a pretty spectacular experience. I’m tempted to do it again with a more robust class than the Asari Vanguard, but we’ll see.

In the meantime, I’ve been working on challenges with a friend of mine. I’m personally shooting to finish out the Assault Rifle Mastery category and I’ve already finished three of them: the M-37 Falcon, the Geth Pulse Rifle, and the Particle Rifle. All favorites when wielded by the N7 Destroyer soldier (which is my favorite class to date).

Right now I’m bouncing around build ideas for the N7 Fury, which I’ve never played, so we’ll see how that goes. Personally I prefer ranged combat, but the Fury specializes in close quarters. I also need to figure out how to play the N7 Paladin. I’m desperate to find a Sentinel class that I actually like, but so far I’m coming up short. I did one map as the Paladin and I wasn’t impressed, but I’m willing to try again (more specifically, 9 times at least to finish out a challenge).

Thus far, my favorites in each class are:

Asari Adept

N7 Destroyer Soldier

Female Quarian Engineer

Placeholder Sentinel (yeah)

N7 Shadow Infiltrator

Asari Vanguard

Fun times, right? The challenge system is encouraging me to try out the other classes though, so we’ll see if I find some new favorites in the near future or if I burn myself out playing too much.

Until next time!

– Elorfin

P.S. “De gustibus non est disputandum – In matters of taste, there can be no disputes.

Leave a Reply

