A thoughtful and personal exploration of games

Gaming Catchup


With Hurricane Sandy in the neighborhood, I thought I’d just talk about some of the things I’ve been doing in the games on my desktop. It’s an elite crowd: Lord of the Rings Online, Star Wars: The Old Republic, Star Trek Online, Mass Effect 3, Diablo 3, and XCOM Enemy Unknown. There’s Civilization IV, Champions Online, and Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic, but I haven’t touched those in a while.

The other day I beat XCOM Enemy Unknown and since then I’ve been yearning to play more. I haven’t because I’m waiting for the new downloadable content that is supposed to be coming sometime soon. I’m slightly aggravated because they haven’t said specifically WHEN they’re releasing it but also because you can’t take advantage of the new DLC without starting a new game. Kind of sucks, right? Oh well. It’s just, I know what mistakes I made during the game and I’d like to remedy that.

I haven’t really touched Diablo 3 since 1.05 dropped. I have updated it, but I’ve been called by other games more.

I also haven’t really touched Lord of the Rings Online since XCOM came out. That one’s obvious though.

Last night I participated in the weekend event for Mass Effect 3. They’ve shifted from the big community wide events to more individual-scale events. This past weekend’s event rewarded me with a chance of getting a different N7 weapon in all future commendation packs. I didn’t feel this was a bad thing and it was easy enough to achieve, so no problem there. I spent several maps gleefully shooting things with my N7 Valiant sniper rifle and, I’d like to think, a little better with it. I’m still a pretty horrid shot, but I’m getting pretty good at killing enemies with shots to the lower extremities.  With the introduction of the challenge system, I’m interested in playing more.

Star Trek Online has been my go-to game of recent months. With the new Season 7 just around the corner, I’m excited. The new reputation system will remove the silly random loot drop system for the end-game equipment. Also, there will be an embassy holding added to the holdings system for our fleet. Speaking of our holdings: I’m about ready to say “screw it” regarding the special projects. They cost 200k dilithium and they don’t contributed enough now. I’m tired of grinding day after day to make nearly no progress on our starbase, so I’m thinking I’ll start pushing for people to contribute to the standard projects and to hell with the fish tank.

I’ve been playing a consular in Star Wars: The Old Republic lately and I really enjoy it. I’m getting ready to do a story-only let’s play video series of one of the classes. Someone requested that I play the bounty hunter and, as it’s the only request thus far, I’m bouncing around ideas of what to do. I already know I’m going Mercenary for my advanced class, but do I play a female? Do I play a Chiss or a cyborg? Do I go light side? Dark side? Something in between? Yesterday I was messing around and I made a female Chiss bounty hunter and I think I might do that.

So, that’s what I’ve been up to lately in my games. I’m looking forward to Season 7 for STO, 1.5 for SWTOR, and the Slingshot DLC for XCOM. Also, they’re currently developing new DLC for Mass Effect 3 that’s scheduled to come out in late November (27th I think) and I’m always interested in that.

Until next time!

– Elorfin

P.S. “Multitasking? I can’t do two things at once. I can’t even do one thing at once.” – Helena Bonham Carter

Leave a Reply

