A thoughtful and personal exploration of games

Exciting Developments


This week is pretty exciting for me and gaming.

First of all, XCOM Enemy Unknown is coming out tomorrow, October 9th. I’ve been looking forward to this game for a long time now. Amazon says my copy will be here between the 15th and 17th, but they’re usually good about getting things to people quickly, regardless of the shipping style. Yeah, I got a physical copy, but mostly because of all the cool extras like the art book.

Also, Mass Effect 3 is releasing its latest multiplayer DLC that’s introducing a lot of cool new stuff to the game. We can expect a variety of hazards on our existing maps and the Collectors from Mass Effect 2 are returning as another enemy. More classes and weapons round out what some are saying is the last multiplayer DLC we’re going to see for ME3 while they focus on single-player DLC.

Wednesday, October 10th, Wing Commander creator Chris Roberts is going to make an announcement regarding a game he’s making that will herald his return to the industry after 10 years. I’m extremely excited and I’m hoping for a Freelancer/Privateer style game from him but I’ll be happy for whatever he does reveal. I do know that my poor four year old laptop will NOT be able to run what he wants to make, since the main reason he’s returned to the industry is because of the available technology to create the experience he wants to share. I’m still excited though.

This week is just full of exciting developments!

Anyway, I’ve got a wide array of gaming to do. On my plate is Mass Effect 3 multiplayer, Star Trek Online, Star Wars: The Old Republic, Lord of the Rings Online, Civilization V, Diablo III, Torchlight II, and Final Fantasy XII. I should get some of that in before my copy of XCOM shows up.

Until next time!

– Elorfin

P.S. “Some feelings are to mortals given, With less of earth in them than heaven.” – Walter Scott

Leave a Reply

