A thoughtful and personal exploration of games

Game Jumping


In a form of Quantum Leaping, I managed to jump from MMO to MMO to MMO this weekend with a minimum of fuss and a maximum of fun. I’ll cover what happened yesterday, but this has happened effectively three days in a row now.

I started with Star Trek Online. We need dilithium for our latest fleet project that will station security officers throughout our starbase and I kicked us from 22% to 30%. I was also invited along on a Khitomer Accord Ground Elite run and we successfully finished it. That was exciting and definitely new for me. There’s a lot more for me to do in Star Trek and with Season 7 just around the bend, I’m excited to see what’s coming up.

I moved into Lord of the Rings Online. I’ve been hammering Moria lately, trying to get to the other side, but there’s a short series of quests that had me going back and forth between two places and it’s just plain irritating. Last night I thought I’d finished it, but I was wrong and I need to go back to this area between the places. So, I stepped out of Moria and basked in the sunlight of Middle Earth as I built up Turbine Points so I could afford the Hurried Traveler trait (it makes my milestone skills cooldown in 30 minutes instead of the default hour). I was thrilled to finally get it.

I wrapped up yesterday with a bit of Star Wars: The Old Republic. I’ve been playing a Consular lately, a Sage.  She hit level 15 last night as I plowed through the Black Sun portion of Coruscant. I designed Aikyria and I’m quite proud of her since she’s very lovely. I’ve got quite a crush on her. All that aside, it’s really fun throwing rocks with the force.

I’m very much looking forward to the upcoming release of XCOM Enemy Unknown and I’ve ordered a replacement for one of my sticks of RAM to help out here. Turns out I have two sticks of RAM: a 2 GB and a 1 GB. I’m replacing the 1 with a 2. With that single swap, I’ll have 4 GB and I’ll be meeting the recommended system requirements and I should be able to run the game well. I’m also getting a replacement heat sink since my fan seems to like making a sound every now and again (well, three times in total this week).

So, yes, plenty going on and great things happening.

Until next time!

– Elorfin

P.S. “All of time and space; everywhere and anywhere; every star that ever was. Where do you want to start?” – The Doctor

Leave a Reply

