A thoughtful and personal exploration of games

Sick Day Gaming


Today I’m coming down with a cold. I’ve got my cup of hot tea and I’m cozy-ed up to my laptop. I do remember very strongly this one time when I was sick during my winter break though…

It was December and I can’t remember the year. I had Final Fantasy VII for the PC. I woke up at 5 AM sick and sniffle-y, having trouble staying asleep. I went downstairs and started up FF7. I shut the game down at midnight. Note: this being FF7, 19 hours wasn’t THAT much work in the game. Honestly, I don’t think it was a significant enough chunk of the game since I don’t remember what I did that day. Or maybe it’s the cold I had that day preventing any significant memory.

Over the years I’ve used gaming as a great way to distract myself from whatever illness I’m suffering… except that one time I had the flu something awful, but I definitely tried. Today, I have no idea what I’m going to play, but I do know I’d like to play some Star Trek Online, I need to check my auctions in Diablo III, and… I think that’s it unless I pick up my DS to play some more Chrono Trigger.

These days I don’t sit at my computer for 19 hours on end. I pretend as if I’m not sick at all and make as if I have places to be even if I don’t. It helps me feel better to do that.

I know it’s not much for today, but I’m quite groggy, so…

Until next time!

– Elorfin

P.S. “I reckon being ill as one of the great pleasures of life, provided one is not too ill and is not obliged to work till one is better.” – Samuel Butler

One response

  1. Do what you need to do to get through the illness. Being sick sucks, but I have say being able to cozy up with a cup of tea and a game sounds lovely and just what the doctor ordered 😉

    Feel better soon!

    September 10, 2012 at 10:01 AM

Leave a Reply

