A thoughtful and personal exploration of games

Recent Gaming Craving – How I Resisted Playing Chrono Cross


I wish I was kidding, but it was the strategy guide. Let me start at the beginning.

The other day I was interested in maybe popping Chrono Cross back in and playing from beginning to end. The desire was fairly strong and I even located my copy of the game and the strategy guide. Then, before bed the other night, I started to flip through the guide.

How in the hell did I ever play this game? Let me try again: the strategy guide makes the mechanics of the game (elements and so forth) sound rather complex, but I don’t remember this game being that difficult. Well, that’s not entirely true… fighting Miguel in the Dead Sea was really hard and one of the hardest boss fights in my life. Moreso, this game was just long and involved and it took a while to beat.

The more I read the strategy guide, the more I wondered why I wanted to play it again. I didn’t. I just wanted to experience the story again. Ah, Internet, my savior. I spent one evening poking around the storyline on Chronopedia (a premier source for all Chrono Trigger and Chrono Cross information) and I was sated. Then I beat Nightmare in Diablo III and started in on Hell difficulty.

Note to self: if you want to play an old game, just read the strategy guide for that game and you won’t want to play it any more. I don’t know why, but guides just have a way of displaying the complexities of something that used to be fun and fascinating in a way that just isn’t. Maybe it’s just the Chrono Cross guide. Maybe I’m weird. Well, that’s a given actually. In the end, I did remember just how crushingly difficult many of the boss fights were and how long several of them took me to finish. There’s a reason there’s 45 characters in the game… it adds another level of party building complexity to the combat system. Yeah… this is not a game for casual players. Good thing I caught myself before putting the game in my PS2.

Until next time!

– Elorfin
P.S. “There are two tragedies in life. One is not to get your heart’s desire. The other is to get it.” – Bernard Shaw, Man and Superman

Leave a Reply

