A thoughtful and personal exploration of games

Building a Starbase in Star Trek Online


Season 6 of Star Trek Online dropped on Thursday and since then I’ve been running around building up resources (and spending them) working on the Starbase projects as we queue them up.

Some of the most fun I’ve had in recent days was last night when two of my friends joined me for some PvE group action and we built up a good pile of fleet marks. Then we pounded the ground on Nukara Prime and kicked some Tholian butt (do they have butts?).

The content is repetitive, but for some reason it’s extremely fun. Maybe it’s because there’s this amazing goal of a complete Starbase in the distant future. Maybe it’s because there’s never a moment to just stop and think about what I’m doing thanks to the high respawn rates. Maybe it’s because I’ve got my friends working on it too.

Because our fleet is so small (6 people and their alts), we have to be careful about which projects we choose. There are these special projects that only take 30 minutes to finish, but the amount of resources they take to complete are just absurd. There’s actually a note on these 30 minute resource sinks that says that they’re designed for large fleets with plenty of resources, so I made a point of announcing that in the Starbase Message of the Day. In other words, 30 minute missions = bad for small fleets.

I’ve discovered how rewarding some of the PvE events are and aren’t through trial and error. The least rewarding and longest mission is sadly the Starbase Defense fleet action that requires 15 to 20 ships to do. I spent about 45-65 minutes doing it and came away with 8 fleet marks (during a bonus fleet mark event). On another mission, Colony Invasion, I gained about 26 marks in 10 minutes. The Starbase Incursion map gave me 20 marks (even though we failed) and the Fleet Alert mission gives 17 marks (if you finish it) outside of the bonus event and 22 marks (if you finish it) during the bonus event. Starbase Blockade rewards 1 mark per transport saved up to 11 transports and 2 marks for the 12th transport (I’ve never been a party to saving more than 12 transports) and you get double marks during the bonus event, so it’s automatically better to do this one only during the bonus event.

I’m still figuring things out. I expect we’ll make mistakes and come and go over the coming weeks as our attention to Star Trek Online ebbs and flows (as it usually does). I’m just glad we have this grand group project. I’m looking forward to our first upgrade project.

Until next time!

– Elorfin

P.S. “It was the dawn of the third age of mankind, ten years after the Earth/Minbari war. The Babylon Project was a dream given form. Its goal: to prevent another war by creating a place where humans and aliens could work out their differences peacefully. It’s a port of call, home away from home for diplomats, hustlers, entrepreneurs, and wanderers. Humans and aliens wrapped in two million, five hundred thousand tons of spinning metal, all alone in the night. It can be a dangerous place, but it’s our last best hope for peace. This is the story of the last of the Babylon stations. The year is 2258. The name of the place is Babylon 5.” – Jeffrey Sinclair – Babylon 5, Season 1

4 responses

  1. Hey, I’m a reader of MMOGC’s, and I saw your post about playing STO. I’ve got a lifetime membership, and I was thinking about maybe getting back into STO. Is… is your fleet accepting new members?

    July 18, 2012 at 9:39 AM

    • We are certainly accepting of new members, but there’s a bit of a caveat there: I’m pretty much the only person who plays regularly. The other five members kind of come and go to varying degrees. They’re all real life friends of mine and we talk a lot, but we’re also all gamers who have (essentially) some kind of “Hey, shiny!” reaction to other games and we come and go (if you poke through my blog, you’ll see examples where in one week I’ve played 3-5 different games but in other weeks I’ve been wholly dedicated to just one game). We’re exceptionally casual and we’re happy to help each other. If you’re interested, shoot me an in-game email at Vyris@Elorfin and I’ll get you into the fleet as soon as I can. Any questions you have I’ll be happy to answer in-game.

      July 18, 2012 at 9:47 AM

      • Sweet! That sounds like my level of commitment, considering that I’ve had a Brand Spanking New computer for two or three months now and still haven’t installed STO. (It’s SWTOR and Civ V all the time, baby.)

        July 18, 2012 at 9:49 AM

      • LOL I totally understand that. Lately I’ve been bouncing between SWTOR, STO, ME3, and a few other games (LOTRO, Rain-Slick, etc.). Like I said, shoot me an in-game email and I’ll be happy to bring you into the fleet.

        July 18, 2012 at 9:51 AM

Leave a Reply

