A thoughtful and personal exploration of games

Literature in Gaming


I was having a conversation with my Dad a few nights ago. He was watching BBC America and the original Clash of the Titans came on. Harry Hamlin’s hair made us laugh the last time we saw it, but that movie does not hold up well…. ANYWAY we started to talk about modern interpretations of mythology and I mentioned the game Rise of the Argonauts.

Honestly, I don’t have anything profound to point to here. I don’t have any lessons or arguments to make. I think reimagining old stories into new mediums is a great idea. There might not be any sense in reinventing the wheel, but we can totally make it an alloy and put some spinners on it, right?

I really don’t have that many examples at hand in the realm of games I’ve played. Rise of the Argonauts is pretty much the only game I’ve played that’s said “HEY We’re a game based on the story of Jason and the Golden Fleece and we totally have Hercules and all those Argonauts!” Oh, by the way, AMAZING retelling of the story. I thoroughly enjoyed it.

I’m quite certain you can look around and see these things occurring. For example, Pride and Prejudice is being reinterpreted as a personal vlog on YouTube in “The Lizzie Bennet Diaries”. Er… I’m out of examples.

I suppose what I’m trying to say here is that I’m always fascinated by new approaches. That’s probably why I’m very more accepting of new ideas and new interpretations than a lot of people. I want to see how “it” holds up. If Michael Bay wants to remake the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles and mess around in that yard, by all means, go for it, and I’ll give it a shot. If someone wants to make a game where I get to play as some famous character from mythology in a new interpretation of that story, I think that’s great. In a way I think it’s about exposing us to old ideas in new ways. It’s about making people curious about how the story was originally told and getting those who know the story already to think about it in a new light.

Until next time!

– Elorfin

P.S. “Creativity, as has been said, consists largely of rearranging what we know in order to find out what we do not know. Hence, to think creatively, we must be able to look afresh at what we normally take for granted.” – George Kneller

Leave a Reply

