A thoughtful and personal exploration of games

E3 Observations


Recently, gamers enjoyed seeing videos and reading about news from the latest E3. We saw released by major news-type-people several trailers displaying the games Assassin’s Creed 3, Splinter Cell: Blacklist, The Last of Us, Halo 4, Tomb Raider, Resident Evil 6, Crysis 3, Skyrim Dawnguard, Pikmin 3, and more. Further, new hardware was showcased (but not as much as people seem to have expected in the industry). The Wii U looks pretty interesting even though I kind of scoffed at it when it was originally announced a while back. Let me talk about just a couple of things that I really really enjoyed from E3.

1) The Assassin’s Creed 3 Trailer. Dear god, Connor does everything except sodomize those redcoats with that musket. Sweet.

 

2) Star Wars 1313. HOLY CRAP THIS SHOWED UP UNDER THE RADAR FOR ME! I can’t wait for this! EEEEEEEEEEE! Ahem, sorry, inner fanboy came out for a bit there. Watching all the footage I could find on YouTube, I noticed that this feels like a new Shadows of the Empire. I’m quite sure there are other elements there, but I don’t really care. I’m excited to see what the depths of Coruscant are like. Also, STAR WARS!

 

3) XCOM Enemy Unknown. I knew this was going to be there and I’ve watched the trailer several times since it dropped onto YouTube. I’m more excited to see this game than all the others that were announced and showcased at E3. This is going to be a great game. In reading some comments about this game, I keep hearing how cartoonish and stylized it looks. These are the people who never played the original because that one was designed to look like a graphic novel. Want to talk cartoonish? Hah!

 

A note on the things I’ve seen (and not seen) on the web about the latest XCOM game: here’s this game that’s based entirely on an original that a lot of people trumpet as the pinnacle of strategy gaming and I saw nearly no coverage of it on popular news programs or websites. Seriously? The ONLY (as far as I know) Turn-Based Strategy (well, it’s got some real-time, but it’s not the combat portion) game at E3 got no coverage by the news I frequent. That’s upsetting. So if anything, I fully expect XCOM to be the silent juggernaut from E3. Yeah, sure, Assassin’s Creed and Halo go for some kind of realism in their art design and mechanics and twitch combat, but the game you’ll be playing YEARS later will be XCOM when the novelty of leaping assassinations and “Halo physics” wears off. I’ve been playing the original XCOM off and on since it launched in 1993-4 and I still love it today. I hope that this new iteration on the old classic will do the same for me. I also hope my four-year-old computer will run it nicely.

Pay attention to XCOM. Seriously. Firaxis is doing great things quietly, off to the side. If I could, I’d love to be their captain of gaming enthusiasm.

Until next time!

– Elorfin

P.S. “It’s basically… not a remake but a reimagining of the original XCOM game.” – Casey O’Toole, Lead Programmer

P.P.S. “Well core principles from the original that we wanted to build on was basically… everything.” – Jake Solomon, Lead Designer

2 responses

  1. great disappointment from assassin 3, looks different on xbox360, and graphics are not smooth at all, on the other hand on PS3 it looks fantastic, and I didn’t see a PC version yet, do you have more info about the PC version ?

    July 7, 2012 at 5:41 AM

    • As far as I know, the PC version of AC3 will come out at roughly the same time as the XBox and PS3 versions and will look/perform very much the same. Also, remember, the game wasn’t finished when it was presented at E3. They have until October 30th for the North American release (effectively since they have to have the game finished a month or so before that so enough copies can be made for everyone) to get everything in order. Seeing as the previous games were pretty awesome, I’m willing to give them the benefit of the doubt for this latest one in the series.

      Oh, according to Wikipedia, the PC release in Europe is November 23rd. I’d assume the release for North America is going to be the same.

      July 7, 2012 at 7:26 AM

Leave a Reply

