A thoughtful and personal exploration of games

Restless Gaming


Yesterday I experienced something that I haven’t experienced in a while: I didn’t know what to play and that made me feel rather out of sorts.

I’ve been playing lots of Star Trek Online and Diablo III (more D3 than STO really) and after quitting D3 yesterday, I sat and stared at my desktop.

Mass Effect? Nope.

Mass Effect 2? Nah.

Mass Effect 3? Not until they fix multiplayer so I can actually connect again. Seriously, this pisses me off.

Champions Online? Meh.

Lord of the Rings Online? I’d have to relearn how to play… maybe later.

Star Trek Online? Not in the mood.

Star Wars: The Old Republic? I’m not willing to deal with lag right now.

Diablo III? I need a break from that.

Ticket to Ride? I just did a few matches.

Civilization IV: Beyond the Sword? I played some but I got bored.

And that was just my desktop.

Today, I’m feeling better and much less restless. I still don’t know what I’m going to play, but I was having fun with Ticket to Ride yesterday, so maybe I’ll kick up the number of computer opponents or something. Or maybe I’ll load back up my game of Civ IV and continue playing as the Holy Roman Empire. Yeah… Vikings to my right, Greeks to my left, and Russians to the far south. Maybe, we’ll see. In the meantime, I’m going to keep my fingers crossed that Bioware gets their multiplayer connection issues handled because I’m definitely not the only person screwed by their new patch and DLC. I really want to try the new maps!

Until next time!

– Elorfin

P.S. “Avoid all refined speculations; confine yourself to simple reflections, and recur to them frequently. Those who pass too rapidly from one truth to another feed their curiosity and restlessness; they even distract their intellect with too great a multiplicity of views. Give every truth time to send down deep root into the heart.” – François Fénelon

Leave a Reply

