A thoughtful and personal exploration of games

Gaming, Games, Gamery – Personal Gaming Update


I thought I’d let you all know what I’ve been playing lately. It’s nothing spectacular, just Diablo III and Star Trek Online.

First, Diablo III. When I found out there were 10 character slots, I immediately set to work filling 8 of them. Quite silly, right? Anyway, if you make a male and a female of every class, you never have to delete a character. So, lots of work ahead there. I’ve been really enjoying the wizard class lately. It feels very appropriate and it satisfies the D&D portions of my psyche pretty well. Further, there’s nothing like weed whacking as a barbarian. Hitting enemies in a point and click game has never been so satisfying. Kudos to the sound designers.

My highest level character right now is level 36 in Act 1 of Nightmare difficulty. I’ve dabbled in most of the classes, but the second most progress I’ve made has been on a barbarian that I’ve gotten to Act 2 of Normal and a wizard in about the same place. Note: I’m no fan of sand wasps.

On the Star Trek Online front, I’ve finally built the Tetryon and Quantum weaponry I’ve been wanting for some weeks now. Now every time I shoot, it comes out blue. In conjunction with the Tron-style blue lines the Aegis set has bestowed upon my illustrious Iowa, it’s quite the light show. It’s very awesome. Have a few action shots.

So, I hope you enjoyed the gratuitous shots of my girl in action. I’m very proud of what I’ve managed to put together here. I wish I could’ve shown you images of a higher quality, but I run the game at lower settings to improve my performance. Alas.

For some context for the above pictures, I was responding to a distress call by a civilian freighter named Sh’mar. They needed medical assistance and while I was aiding them, we were set upon by True Way ships (Cardassian and Jem’Hadar vessels). I quickly took care of the terrorists and helped the Sh’mar on her way.

Until next time.

– Elorfin

P.S. “Well let me tell you something. Don’t! Don’t let them promote you. Don’t let them transfer you. Don’t let them do *anything* that takes you off the bridge of that ship, because while you’re there… you can make a difference.” – James T. Kirk

Leave a Reply

