A thoughtful and personal exploration of games

Looking Forward to the Up and Coming


For as long as I’ve been paying attention to the gaming industry, I’ve always tried to find something to get excited about… something to genuinely look forward to. I’ve got a couple of things I’d like to share that I’m excited about.

1) XCOM Enemy Unknown – If you’ve ever poked through my previous posts, you’ve probably heard me talk about X-COM UFO Defense and Enemy Unknown is a reimagination of the original (although, the European version of the original was actually called X-COM Enemy Unknown). I’m exceptionally excited about this game. I’ve always been a proponent of taking older games and updating them to more modern mechanics, graphics, and sounds. X-COM is an old game that I still pick up every now and again to play and it was my introduction to tactical level combat. I love it greatly and I’m truly excited about this new take on my old favorite. I have a hunch I’ll still go back to play the original from time to time, but the new one definitely caters to my sense of what I love in games by taking a couple of pages from Dungeons & Dragons 4th Edition to help combat move smoothly (at least, that’s the way it seems to me).

2) Star Wars: The Old Republic – I think I’m always going to be excited about the updates for this game. Now that I have a legacy, I’m genuinely looking forward to seeing what extra little bits they’re going to be adding to it come 1.3 and so on. Further, I absolutely love the Smuggler storyline and I’m truly immersed in my character. I can’t wait to see what comes next for Captain Vyris Tykin, Republic Privateer!

3) Star Trek Online – Season 6 is just around the corner and they’re announcing that it’s all about Fleet Advancement and getting your own Fleet Starbase. I’m sure there’s going to be some other adjustments and so forth, but also lined up for the future is much much more cool stuff that just makes a Star Trek fan excited to be alive. I’m really glad I have a lifetime account.

4) Mass Effect 3 DLC – I always look forward to anything Bioware releases for Mass Effect. They have a grand grasp of what’s good for the franchise and they’re always making great decisions. The upcoming extension for the ending of the game is intended to give closure to those of us who really needed more than the original ending gave. Further, their continued events for multiplayer keep me coming back. I can’t wait to see what comes next!

Thus far, that’s all I’m really looking forward to in gaming… well… there IS one other thing that I’m kind of looking forward to…

5) Diablo III – I spent many a year playing the prior installments and I’m fascinated by it. I want to see how, with the Worldstone destroyed in the previous game, the people of Sanctuary can keep the war between Heaven and Hell from utterly obliterating the world. Also, I kind of owe it to myself to finish things out. I know that after this game Diablo is going to become an MMO (that’s just how the Bioware properties seem to go… three initial games and than an MMO… and it makes sense to me), so I’m going to revel in the single-player-ness as long as I can. The last game gave me nearly 10 years of gaming (I forced myself to stop playing and replaying the game because it would get quite old), let’s see what this new one can do for me.

So, that’s what I’ve got lined up for me… three updates/patches/whatever and two actual games. Here’s hoping 2013 can hold up to the awesomeness that is 2012.

Until next time!

– Elorfin

P.S. “It’s been a dream of ours to recreate X-COM with our unique creative vision. We’re huge fans of the original game and it’s a once in a lifetime opportunity to re-envision a game that is as beloved as X-COM,” said Steve Martin, president of Firaxis Games. “We were careful to keep XCOM: Enemy Unknown true to the elements that made X-COM such a revered game while delivering an entirely new story and gameplay experience for both die-hard X-COM fans and newcomers to the franchise.” – Game Informer

Leave a Reply

