A thoughtful and personal exploration of games

Looking Forward: Mass Effect 3


I’m definitely looking forward to Mass Effect 3. As of this writing, I have about a week to wait for it to come out in the U.S. and I’m getting more excited by the day.

I stopped writing about Mass Effect 2 because I was doing it a bit much, but it’s still one of my most favorite games. In a way, I’m a little worried that Mass Effect 3 will possibly trump its predecessor and that I’ll go on and on about ME3 for a while. Alas, I suppose that’s the price of doing business.

Recently I had the good fortune to play the ME3 Demo on my trusty laptop. It runs exceptionally similar to ME2 (which I appreciate to no end). I feel I’m going to have to get used to the expanded melee combat system and the newly in-depth skill ranking system. Further, I think I’m going to need to become a bit more aggressive in how I approach enemies. The issue stems from the enemies using much more intelligent strategies as well as having more equipment. There are these guardian soldiers that attacked in the demo using these massive metal shields. I tried a couple of tricks to little success, such as just shooting at them, trying to find a weak spot for my bullets to exploit, and rushing in and trying to beat them to death with melee attacks. I think the only way that particular guardian died was because I made him turn to face me and Liara shot him in the back.

Oh, by the way, your companions appear to be much more clever and self-supportive in the new installment.

For now, though, I’m waiting patiently. I’m playing Mass Effect 2 and setting up my own FemShep for a second path through ME3. I’m playing Star Wars: The Old Republic off and on (I’m looking forward to update 1.2). I’m playing lots of Star Trek Online as the new Feature Episode reaches its fourth part this upcoming Saturday.

Until next time!

– Elorfin

P.S. “[P]atience can’t be acquired overnight. It’s just like building up a muscle. Every day you need to work on it.” – Eknath Easwaran

Leave a Reply

