A thoughtful and personal exploration of games

The Appeal of Particular Genres


Last night I was talking with a friend about how they had just recently gotten into Dragon Age and how awesome it was. I said something to the effect of, “I could never get excited about Dragon Age.” Which is true. I never did and to this day I’m still not interested in picking it up. Why is this? Well… I prefer science fiction settings to fantasy ones. I love Mass Effect and Star Trek, Star Wars and Wing Commander, and when it comes to picking up new games, I trend towards the ones that have lasers and spaceships more than dragons and princesses. Don’t get me wrong, I like dragons and princesses just fine, but this is just a trend I’ve recently become aware of myself.

So when I look through the list of MMOs out there to kick the tires on, I wind up being disappointed at the lack of science fiction-y games out there. I mean, sure there’s Star Trek Online and Star Wars: The Old Republic, but those are just two major franchises and of course I’m going to play them. There’s EVE Online (I tried it, honest, but it just wasn’t something I wanted to pay for), ACE Online (it got old pretty fast), and only a few others that ever really caught my eye. If you go to MMORPG, you can count out all the sci-fi setting games and you’ll get 113. Out of those, several have been cancelled or are in development or whatever. The number of actually finished games come out as 62 and Star Wars Galaxies is still on that list. I’m not even going to count all the fantasy games… there’s a metric ton of them.

Science fiction style games tend to get screwed pretty often. I remember waiting around for a Babylon 5 game that Sierra FX was making. They had even given out promo mousepads (I have one) in prep for the game but the entire FX studio was shut down and the B5 game was scrapped. Stargate Worlds was going to bring the long running television shows to an MMO, but they didn’t really have enough steam to get it out the door. It feels like it happens more to the sci-fi games than the fantasy ones, but I’m quite sure there are plenty of fantasy games that don’t make it through development. Although, I bet there’s more than one fantasy game saved by a scantily clad female spellcaster with a dragon in the background somewhere.

I suppose when it really comes down to it, it’s the saying, “to each his own.”

Until next time!

– Elorfin

P.S. De gustibus non disputandum. (There is no disputing about taste).

Leave a Reply

