A thoughtful and personal exploration of games

My Aggressiveness in SWTOR


On Sundays I’ve been playing a Sith Juggernaut in a full group. It requires a particular approach to fights because I’m the only melee person in the group and I need to be quite aggressive a fair portion of the time. To understand a bit, here’s the group breakdown: I’m a melee tank, we have a Powertech – ranged tank, we have a Sniper – ranged damage dealer, and a Sith Sorcerer for ranged damage and healing.

So, typically if there are enemies that aren’t that strong around, the group just goes and if you lag behind, you can catch up at your own pace. If we’re in a very difficult zone (heroic areas or whatever) then we stay together. Typically the fights start with me leaping into an enemy and I’m followed up by the Powertech firing a volley of missiles from his wrist launcher around me, the Sniper starts shooting and, well, by this time I’ve got a case of tunnel vision so I don’t know what the Sorceress is doing.

When we stopped playing yesterday, I switched characters to my Commando. It’s an odd thing, changing your play style entirely in just a few minutes. I went from recklessly diving into combat with no regard for my health to… recklessly starting fights that could be finished in a matter of moments and randomly going “Oops” whenever I accidentally started a fight that wound up being bigger than expected. Um, yeah. I suppose my aggressiveness in play style didn’t entirely go away when I switched characters, but I will share with you one event that happened last night right before I went to bed.

I had just finished the Tatooine Bonus Series and had decided to return to Nar Shadda to see if I was able to do the bonus series there. I was level 31 and riding high on the fact that I was looking cool and kicking ass, so I was a bit surprised to see that the first quests in the bonus series were also level 31… which typically means they’re going to be a little difficult. I decided that I wanted to handle my companion’s personal quest first, so I headed to the Industrial Zone (or whatever it’s called) and turned into this Imperial Warehouse area. I picked up a side quest for the zone that had me destroying Imperial crates and killing at least 3 Sith Apprentices. Around the corner I encountered my first Sith Apprentice… she was a Sorcerer, level 31, and I said to myself before approaching, “If she whips me I’m going to just move on to Alderaan and see about doing this later”. Well, she whipped me… pretty handily I might add. Turns out that going toe to toe with a lightning shooting witch who is a level 31 gold star is a little above a level 31 commando. I put up a good fight, but I only got her about halfway down before she finally kicked me to the curb like a petulant child.

Anyway, I should probably listen to my gut a bit more than I did last night before bed. Oh well. I would like to note that I’m not usually very aggressive in games. It’s typically only after I’ve obtained a certain level of familiarity with the mechanics and the game world itself that I happen to push myself to the limit. In fact, I’m typically the guy who likes to slow down a bit.

Until next time!

– Elorfin

P.S. “Proprietor? Bill please. To the man bleeding at my feet.” – Lando Calrissian

Leave a Reply

