A thoughtful and personal exploration of games

The Birthday Game – Star Wars: The Old Republic


Today’s my birthday. Yesterday I had my party. I invited three friends over to play Star Wars: The Old Republic. You’d be surprised at how much easier it is to coordinate a group when you’re all sitting around the same table.

I was playing my character Kazul the Sith Juggernaut. I was joined by a Sith Sorcerer, a Powertech, and a Sniper. We started by doing the Black Talon twice (the second time was in the vain hope that we’d get more loot, but it didn’t work out so well). Then we moved onto Dromund Kaas. That’s where we really hit our stride and we managed to get all the way up to the Lord Grathan series of quests.

Let me say this about having a group that you just play with: any and all group quests are just a slightly harder coordination challenge for the party. Basically if a heroic group quest popped up into our quest logs, we never broke stride, there was no avoiding the quest like you do when you’re playing solo. We just went, “hey, we’re here, let’s get it done”.

I managed to go from level 12 to level 16 yesterday in about 10 hours. So much fun. Rarely did we ever just sit around doing nothing (the only time we really sat around doing “nothing” was when we were eating pizza and even then we were crafting the whole time).

It was great. I had a wonderful time. I can’t wait to play as Kazul again. She brings out the worst in me, but with all my friends there, it’s just a laughing matter (I’m great at evil laughter by the way).

Until next time!

– Elorfin

P.S. “Birthdays are just nature’s way of telling us to eat more cake.” – Anon.

P.P.S. “Birthdays are good for you. Statistics show that the people who have the most live the longest.” – Larry Lorenzoni

Leave a Reply

