A thoughtful and personal exploration of games

Nothing but Star Wars: The Old Republic


Normally I go to bed anywhere between midnight and 2 AM. Lately I’ve been going to bed at 3 AM. I’m quite tired. Here’s why… there’s this itty bitty little game called Star Wars: The Old Republic and it’s like one of those amazingly addictive books where I just can’t put it down until I reach a really good and natural stopping point. Unfortunately, said stopping points are at the end of entire planetary quest series. Well, maybe fortunately… I don’t know.

I have played every single class in the game at least a little bit. As of this writing, my most advanced characters are a Commando, a Jedi Sentinel, a Scoundrel, and a Mercenary. Next Sunday I will be playing a Sith Juggernaut with my friends and I have a Jedi Sage set aside for playing exclusively in a group as well. Now, let me explain… I may have more Republic characters farther along in the game, but I definitely do enjoy playing the Sith characters a lot. I just find it easier to identify with the Republic characters (and the Bounty Hunter) than the rest of the Sith classes. I’m not mean, I don’t take pleasure in doing things just to be evil and so each of my Sith characters unavoidably has some light side points. Hell, my Bounty Hunter has done nearly every light side decision available to him and he’s level 19 or so (he’s done two dark side actions… I tend to suck up to Mako quite a bit because I genuinely like her so much).

I don’t know, I just refuse to cater to my darker nature for more than a bit at a time. I enjoy making good decisions. I enjoy helping people. I enjoy fighting for something I genuinely believe in. I absolutely LOVE the Trooper, the Jedi Knight, and the Bounty Hunter storylines. I think they’re fantastic. I’m still trying to decide the right feeling for the Smuggler storyline… last night I felt oh so right getting my ship, but when I landed on Taris I felt strong irritation at being stopped by customs. Hm, I guess I’m supposed to feel that way… so I suppose it’s super awesome too.

The Sith Warrior and Inquisitor feel very powerful, but I don’t know, I just like the Jedi Knight and Consular. I have more fun approaching fights calm and centered as opposed to angry and brutally. That’s just how I operate.

Until next time,

– Elorfin

P.S. “Is that your hair or a dead womp rat on your head?” – my scoundrel Vyris to a fairly young bounty hunter

Leave a Reply

