A thoughtful and personal exploration of games

Star Wars: The Old Republic – Why I want to be a Trooper


 

The word “Trooper” is evocative of many different kinds of characters. There’s the Republic Troopers from Knights of the Old Republic, wearing their red, black and orange uniforms, but also the Imperial Stormtrooper in gleaming white. The Trooper is the basic fighting unit of every war and there’s something attractive in that simplicity. In this case, playing a Republic Trooper means versatility and capability, skill and power, explosives and large firearms.

I have a friend who says he’s going to play a Trooper and make dark side decisions (caveat: he’s very practical, so it’s a safe assumption that he’ll make a few light side decisions in there as well) but he cited a quote that was appropriate to his position: “…you want me on that wall, you need me on that wall”. If you’re at a loss, it’s Jack Nicholson’s character from A Few Good Men who says that line (very near the end of the film). The context is that if there’s something distasteful that the public at large doesn’t need or particularly desire knowledge of, you need men like him, men willing to do whatever it takes to protect the nation they’re sworn to protect, on the front lines, on the wall, no matter the cost. I can certainly appreciate that and in some ways I subscribe to that perspective.

If you note in the above video, the Trooper narrator states that, “We did not start this war, and for us, there is no glory in it.” She then goes on to state that they fight out of duty for the principles and the people of the Republic. That. Right there. Selfless service with a desire for peace. In a similar way to my desire to be a Jedi Knight, right there is where I want to be a Trooper.

Here’s a great progression video.

 

I want to be a Trooper because, well, I suppose it’s because it’s like the normal version of the Jedi. Honor, duty, and loyalty to the Republic. Simple, straightforward, and awesome.

Until next time!

– Elorfin

P.S. Here’s that quote from A Few Good Men in its entirety: “Son, we live in a world that has walls, and those walls have to be guarded by men with guns. Who’s gonna do it? You? You, Lt. Weinburg? I have a greater responsibility than you could possibly fathom. You weep for Santiago, and you curse the Marines. You have that luxury. You have the luxury of not knowing what I know. That Santiago’s death, while tragic, probably saved lives. And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, saves lives. You don’t want the truth because deep down in places you don’t talk about at parties, you want me on that wall, you need me on that wall. We use words like honor, code, loyalty. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent defending something. You use them as a punchline. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the blanket of the very freedom that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said thank you, and went on your way, Otherwise, I suggest you pick up a weapon, and stand a post. Either way, I don’t give a damn what you think you are entitled to.” – Col. Nathan R. Jessep

Leave a Reply

