A thoughtful and personal exploration of games

Star Wars: The Old Republic – Why I want to be a Smuggler


 

The Smuggler class in The Old Republic is iconic of a storied profession… at least, in Star Wars it is. Smugglers are legends of skill and bravery (often times rather stupid bravery, but bravery nonetheless). They are the blockade runners, the rebels, and the people who know how to get stuff done no matter the odds. Famous smugglers include Booster Terrik, Dash Rendar, Jorj Car’das, Talon Karrde, Lando Calrissian, Mara Jade, Atton Rand, and of course the dynamic duo of Han Solo and Chewbacca. They fly ships with names like the Pulsar Skate, the Outrider, the Wild Karrde, the Lady Luck, the Jade’s Fire, the Ebon Hawk, and of course the memorable Millennium Falcon.

More than how iconic the Smuggler is, it’s a profession that (in the case of The Old Republic) speaks of the wild west, of lawless frontiers. It’s the everyman drawn to an extraordinary profession who requires a sharp eye and sharper wit. They’re the explorers; men and women looking for ways around the people who would stop them in their journey from A to B. They’re the normal citizens forced into incredible situations that call for great skill and courage.

I want to be a Smuggler because it reminds me of all these things. I want to be a Smuggler because I believe it will be a grand adventure. I want to be a Smuggler because it means even the more normal of Republic citizens can contribute to the war effort. Mostly though, I want to be a Smuggler because I was a Smuggler in Star Wars Galaxies and I have a job to do. I’m Vyris Tykin and I’m here to get the job done. Whatever it takes and wherever it takes me. Also, no matter the Smuggler, they ALWAYS have the fastest ship in the sector.

 

I want to be a Smuggler because it evokes this smirk on my face whenever I’ve played one in the past.

Until next time!

– Elorfin

P.S. “Smugglers can handle just about anything-they fly through asteroid fields, play tag with nebulas and space storms, and they can land on anything. Nothing fazes a good smuggler. I’ve seen them land ships while fighting uneven gravity fields on asteroids barely bigger than their vessels. Gravity shifts, atmospheric turbulence, sandstorms, blizzards, typhoons…you name it, they know how to handle it.” – Lando Calrissian

2 responses

  1. I’ve mostly been playing this class in testing. I’ll just call it right now, I think the smuggler’s class story is going to be one of the best 🙂

    October 17, 2011 at 12:10 PM

    • I had a feeling it would be awesome. Thanks.

      October 17, 2011 at 12:26 PM

Leave a Reply

