A thoughtful and personal exploration of games

Star Wars: The Old Republic – Why I want to be a Jedi Knight


 

“The Jedi were the guardians of peace and justice in the Old Republic.” – Obi-Wan Kenobi

I usually don’t start a post with a quote, but this time is very appropriate. To be perfectly honest, I could probably write this entire post about Jedi Knights by using only quotes from the movies and the books, however, this post is about why I want to be a Jedi Knight, not why YOU should play one or whatever. Admittedly, this is going to be difficult to explain because the desire runs deep.

My exposure to Jedi Knights has come through the Star Wars movies, the novels, the games, and the animated shows. I’ve picked up a pretty complete picture of the Jedi Knights throughout the history of the Galactic Republic and the way they became once Luke Skywalker started his Praxeum on Yavin IV.

When I watched the Deceived video I sat back and said to myself, “I have to do something. I can’t let this go unanswered. I have to be a Jedi Knight. I have to fight the Sith and put an end to this.” I’m uncomfortable with this non-stop war between the Light Side and the Dark Side and I’ve never been a fan of enemies who don’t listen to reason and who I can’t sit down with and talk about their perspective over a cup of tea or something. I’m one of those people who would love to sit down with the Joker and just let him tell me why he does what he does and yes, I know he’d drive me to death probably, but sue me, I’m curious and I think everyone should be treated respectfully and as a person. Yes, even monsters.

Anyway, there’s this piece of my personality that gets so energized and pushes me to stand up at injustice and evil and I know that if I had the Force and a lightsaber to back me up, I would. I would step up and be a knight in shining armor (or in the case of the Jedi, brown robes) and I would put my foot down. It’s not a “truth, justice, and the American way” sort of thing, but it’s very close to be sure. The Jedi Knight sees oppression and evil and injustice and he DOES something about it. Jedi Knights step up and DO things for those less fortunate and I have this absolute CRAVING to do that. I want to be the shield of the people, I want to be the shining blade of the Republic and I want to be the light that guides the way for all those who desire peace, prosperity, justice, and equality.

That is the Jedi Knight to me. Warrior? Soldier? No, they are Knights. Not the historical version where they were essentially soldiers of the baron or whatever. I’m talking about the romanticized knights that wear shining armor, that are gentlemen and noble and do not stand for anyone being treated poorly. You know what? Jedi Knights DO wear shining armor: it’s the Force.

Let me share some quotes that have come out of Jedi Knights…

“I’m not a Jedi because I like the hum of the lightsaber in my hand…and I’m not a Jedi because I like being a Jedi. I’m a Jedi because the Galaxy needs Jedi.” – Torr Snapit

“Better a few faithful supporters than a wealth of false friends.” – Adi Gallia

“We are keepers of the peace, not soldiers.” – Mace Windu

“Jedi do not fight for peace. That’s only a slogan, and is as misleading as slogans always are. Jedi fight for civilization, because only civilization creates peace. We fight for justice because justice is the fundamental bedrock of civilization: an unjust civilization is built upon sand. It does not long survive a storm.” – Mace Windu

“The Jedi use their power for good. The Jedi are selfless. They only care about others.” – Anakin Skywalker

“No change comes without conflict. Perhaps my destiny is to be the irritant that forces the discussion, the blister that lets you know your boots don’t fit.” – Kyp Durron

“I don’t believe the training of a true Jedi comes from listening to lectures. I want to teach you how to learn action, how to do things, not just think about them. There is no try.” – Luke Skywalker

And now, the Jedi Knight Progression video. I’m definitely looking forward to trying this out.

 

I want to be a Jedi Knight. It’s a part of my being and I’ve wanted it for a long time.

Until next time!

– Elorfin

P.S. Yeah, I want this: “I wear my robe so that I am warm; I carry my lightsaber so that I am safe; and I keep enough credits for my next meal, so that I am not hungry. If the Force wants me to have more, it finds a way of letting me know.” – Kagoro

One response

  1. On the republic side, I’ve already made up my mind to go either Jedi Consular or Jedi Knight. Whichever I play, my husband will play the other so we can level with each other right off the bat, Right now actually leaning towards JK!

    October 3, 2011 at 11:49 AM

Leave a Reply

