A thoughtful and personal exploration of games

Discussion – Current Obsessions


I have this habit of switching to new or different games every now and again. It’s kind of like picking up another book while the one I was reading isn’t quite over yet. Well… here are the current games that I’ve placed on hold:

Lord of the Rings Online

Champions Online

Hellgate: London

Hellgate: Global

Dragon Nest

Star Trek Online

Why did I place them on hold? Well, actually, I burned out a bit on LOTRO after playing it for nearly two weeks straight. Hellgate, well, I got tired of jumping every time I was walking down subway tunnels. As for Champions, I’m not exactly inspired to play a game like that right now.

Dragon Nest and Star Trek Online almost don’t fall in this category, but I’m mentioning them because essentially they’re “on call”. What I mean by that is that I play Dragon Nest with a friend of mine and whenever he’s in the mood to play together, I try to do so. I think we’re playing tonight at 8. Star Trek is an “any excuse to play” kind of game, even if it’s just for a few minutes here or there.

Now, the games that have my attention for right now:

Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic

Batman: Arkham Asylum

Yeah, those are it really. KotOR is being played for my ongoing Let’s Play video series and I got Batman through Steam last night on a lark. I was up rather late last night trashing the Joker’s minions and hunting down the solutions to the Riddler’s riddles. It’s a refreshing and satisfying change of pace.

Speaking of satisfaction, I’ve noticed I really enjoy the games that have a satisfying combat system… ones where you really hear the crunch of the hit and the visuals match it. Dragon Nest and Batman have that in common (probably also the Assassin’s Creed series, Splinter Cell series, and Mass Effect series).

Anyways, I’m still putting up KotOR videos (today is the 13th such video) and I’m looking forward to diving back into Batman today.

Until next time!

– Elorfin

P.S. “Residents of Joker Asylum are all required to follow one simple rule. Failure to follow this rule will be punished by death, no ‘ifs’, ‘ands’, or ‘buts’. And do you know the best part about the rule? It’s a secret!” – The Joker

Leave a Reply

