A thoughtful and personal exploration of games

Discussion – Level Up


This last week I’ve spent a significant amount of time playing Lord of the Rings Online. Starting last Monday, I went from level 29 to nearly level 44 last night (Sunday). 14 levels in a week. Here’s how I did it (more or less).

I created this Man Captain a while ago and he initially went through the Man starter area of Archet, through Combe and Staddle and onto Bree-town. Here’s the thing, I stopped at about level 14 when I realized I would most probably die during a quest or two (this was somewhere around the Midgewater Marsh). At this point I relocated to Thorin’s Gate and did all of the quests in Ered Luin (first the Dwarven starter quests and then the Elven ones). Then, upon completing Ered Luin, I started from the west side of the Shire in Little Delving and made my way all the way through it. By the time I was done I was around levels 15-17 (I can’t recall). Then I progressed to Bree-town and polished off everything between Bree and the Shire (without going into the forest). I then did a bit of traveling up the Greenway, knocking out quests until I reached the Orcs. I finally turned around and pulverized the Old Forest quests and started in on the Eastern Bree Fields (which are actually north of Bree, but whatever) and once those were done, I did the Barrow Downs.

By this time I was in the early 20’s. I think maybe 23? Anyway, I went through the Lone Lands all the way from the Forsaken Inn to Ost Guruth, doing all the quests west of Ost Guruth (but none of the quests originating there). I then took advantage of Frideric the Elder’s quest to port myself to Trestlebridge in the North Downs and I did all the quests I could until I reached Esteldin. Once there, I did all the quests I could that took place west of Esteldin and I didn’t touch the ones that went east. At this point I switched back to the Lone Lands and proceeded to do as many quests I could do in Ost Guruth and the eastern Lone Lands.

It was here that I remembered Oatbarton. This very northern part of the Shire is actually in southern Evendim. I was around level 33 or so when I did this and the experience payout was absurdly good for simple “preparing for a festival” quests. I did all the quests in Oatbarton and Dwaling, up to the High King’s Crossing colossus statue. Then I bounced to the North Downs and worked on the quests east of Esteldin, went back to the Lone Lands to polish stuff up, and then I opened up Evendim.

I think it was Friday when I hit Evendim like a sledgehammer hitting things in a Gallagher show. I did nearly everything I could in Evendim. I hit level 42 on Friday night. Saturday I took a bit of a break (had to get the dog to the vet for a checkup and I had a D&D game that night), but Sunday I started in on Angmar, made significant headway into the Trollshaws, and I knocked on the Misty Mountains’ door.

As of this morning, I still have Annuminas quests I’d like to do in Evendim, 6 fellowship quests (5 of them gray) in the North Downs, 9 quests in Angmar that I’m holding off on, a few quests in the Trollshaws and Misty Mountains to get to, and a smattering of Epic and Special quests to knock out. Ahh, progress. This is what happens when I just let go and play. Now, I still have my level 60 Rune-Keeper who is set for playing with my high level friends and I have my level 27 Guardian that is playing with a particular friend, but this Captain is just for me. I can’t wait to get him to Eregion and Forochel and see how he handles that.

A side note: I named my Captain Zyphus after the god of accidental death in the Pathfinder campaign setting. His herald is named Pharasma after the goddess of death in the same setting. I find it kind of humorous that I have the greater goddess as the minion to my lesser god. Good times.

Until next time!

– Elorfin

P.S. “LADIES AND GENTLEMEN! I did not come here tonight to make you laugh! I came here to sell you something! And I want ya to pay particular attention, because The Amazing Master Tool Corporation, a subsidiary of Fly By Night Industries has entrusted who? — me! — to show you! — the handiest and the dandiest kitchen tool you’ve ever seen, and don’t ya wanna know how it works! First you take an ordinary apple! You place the apple between the patented pans! Then you reach for the tool that is not a slicer, not a dicer, not a chopper in a hopper! What in the hell can it possibly be? SLEDGE-O-MATIC!” – Leo Gallagher

2 responses

  1. Amazing! This blog looks just like my old one! It’s on a entirely different topic but it has pretty much the same page layout and design. Outstanding choice of colors!

    July 1, 2013 at 8:44 AM

    • LOL Thanks? I just found it easier to read this way.

      July 1, 2013 at 8:46 AM

Leave a Reply

