A thoughtful and personal exploration of games

Impression – SpaceChem and Deathspank


Today I’d like to direct your attention to two very interesting and fun games that I recently downloaded through Steam: SpaceChem and DeathSpank. Both of these games are $15 bucks and both are of high quality and production. Seriously.

The above video is actually a playthrough video I snagged while solving a particular stage in SpaceChem. The point of the game is to solve the chemical puzzles laid before you by creating a pathing solution for the “waldos” that grab and manipulate chemical elements. As the game goes on you’re introduced to bonding (adding and subtracting bonds), fusing (where shooting a fusion laser into one element pushes it into another thereby creating a third element), and so forth. Further, there’s also a bit of a storyline as you’re a new employee at this interstellar chemical corporation and you witness these strange events that occur. Personally I find the storyline to be compelling me to solve the puzzles so I can get the next bit or two. I really enjoy this game but it can be head-hurtingly hard sometimes. There’s a demo available on Steam and I highly recommend you give it a spin.

This video is the start of a Let’s Play series by Hank Green of the Vlogbrothers. I figured why make my own video when Hank is doing such a wonderful job already! Anyways, DeathSpank is very similar to the typical Diablo II style of game. You don’t get any spells, but as you level you get certain improvements or Hero Cards that amplify your innate abilities further. Equipment and money is plentiful as the exceptionally well written humorous story takes you all over this stylized world. I have a few issues with the game (mainly that I have to click every single time I want to swing my weapon as opposed to holding it down to repeatedly swing). The game seems to crash occasionally for me, but that might just be my problem. All in all, I have a lot of fun playing it and I’m really enjoying the amazing sense of humor the developers put into the game. Most things are tongue in cheek in this game.

Anyways, these are the two games that have captured my attention lately. Please give them a try and let me know what you think! They are very affordable and very fun!

Until next time!

– Elorfin

P.S. “Video games are bad for you? That’s what they said about rock and roll.” – Shigeru Miyamoto

Leave a Reply

