A thoughtful and personal exploration of games

New goals


Aloha everyone!

My intention for February is to post at least once a week on Mondays. So, expect to see something on the 7th, 14th, 21st, and 28th.

In fact, this month I’m intending on doing a vlog-every-day kind of thing. This will force me to learn how to best use my camera and editing software and should get me in the habit of talking to my camera (which doesn’t seem TOO unhealthy). I won’t be talking about JUST games on the vlog, but expect a fair amount. I’m intending to post a video every day even if it’s about mostly nothing.

Further, I’ve set a few personal goals for the month (a little bit of working out mostly) for just health and comfort reasons. I still have my Saturday D&D game (the 5th is when we get back to playing) and my every-other-Sunday D&D game (we played this past Sunday and it was rather fun).

Speaking of D&D… we’ve been playing the Pathfinder system and it’s working out really well. We’ve got a couple of games going to accommodate attendance issues, so I’ve got a Summoner, a Fighter (heavy repeating crossbow), a Fighter (two-handed sword), and… that’s it. With the recent release of Psionics into the Pathfinder system, I’m intending on remaking my favorite 3.5 character, Juan Moore (Psychic Warrior). Further, I’m interested in trying out a gunslinger/rifleman when it gets out of playtesting and I’d like to try a healing Oracle (life mystery).

Also on the D&D front, when I was at my friend’s house where we play our Sunday game, I noticed a book lying amongst a pile of things he’d gotten from an acquaintance. This book was entitled Volo’s Guide to the Dalelands and was released in 1996 as a supplement to AD&D Forgotten Realms by Ed Greenwood. I snatched it up and borrowed it (with permission, duh) and started reading it. It’s a literal travelogue and it’s fascinating. Like most travel guides, it makes you want to go there and I do remember occasionally visiting the Dales in my extensive travels, but my party and I were never truly there for long enough to experience all the things that Volo is talking about. Oh, by the way, Volothamp Geddarm is someone I’ve run into in the past courtesy of the original Baldur’s Gate game. Last I recall, he was hanging out in the bar in the mining town of Nashkel… at least, that’s where I physically ran into him.

This book makes me think about my times playing Baldur’s Gate. I’m pondering going back and playing through the original Baldur’s Gate and then playing Baldur’s Gate II all the way through (for once). Maybe this month, along with all the other things… maybe.

Anyways… until next time!

– Elorfin

P.S. “Here are the Dales as you have never seen them before — Volo’s Dalelands. (Elminster: Nor are likely to again, unless someone else as given to exaggeration, misrepresentation, and flights of fancy happens along.)”

Leave a Reply

