A thoughtful and personal exploration of games

A New Year Approaches


… and with that new year, some new things!

I recently acquired a camcorder (Thanks Mom!) and so I intend to bolster my writings here with video posts as well. Of course, it’ll take some time to get used to using the camera and to overcome my embarrassment at talking to a camera in my bedroom, but I’ll do my best. This will occur after I’ve picked up some extra storage space so I can hold onto some of my videos for later use. Oh, and I’ll have to learn how to edit. Thankfully, the software my camera came with seems very sufficient for my intentions and is rather user friendly (or I’m just a quick study).

I’ve been developing a Star Wars Saga Edition campaign for my friends to play through on the 2nd of January. I’m really looking forward to seeing how they handle some of the obstacles I intend to put them up against. I’m expecting them to steamroll certain parts and hiccup on others, but it’s a role playing game and these things are rarely predictable. It’s very possible that the things I think are harsh on my players will be naught but a gnat against their might and vice versa for the simple tasks I’ve laid before them.

Once they’ve played through it, I’ll give a rundown of the campaign itself. I’m tempted to set up my new camera and record the game itself. I do have 10 hours worth of memory cards for my camera (an 8 GB + a 16 GB memory card apparently = 10 hours). We’ll see how things go. I might forget.

I want to give thanks to the BB-61 blog over at the Pacific Battleship Center website for the added traffic these last few days. It was a welcome Christmas present to share my familial pride of the Iowa with a new audience and I’m excited to expose others to my perspectives on gaming… that is, if there’s an interest.

A quick note, lately I’ve been playing LOTRO, Robotrek, Project Legacy, and Assassin’s Creed: Brotherhood. I recently finished watching Star Wars: The Clone Wars Season 2 (great stuff!) and I just finished reading The Sable Quean by Brian Jacques (part of the Redwall series).

Until next time!

– Elorfin

P.S. “History may not repeat itself, but it does rhyme a lot.” – Mark Twain

Leave a Reply

