A thoughtful and personal exploration of games

I’ve been away for a bit – Let’s Play Catch Up!


Hey folks, I know I haven’t written anything of late here, but I have good reasons!

Let me just say that Assassin’s Creed II (I played it via Steam) is hands down an improvement over the first installment in the series. That said, Brotherhood plays even better (can’t wait for the PC version to come out… I prefer the controls on the computer!). In the spirit of beating games, I dug out my copy of Mr. Robot and whipped that in a couple of days. I also picked up Recettear on Steam and beat that in a couple of days (much fun!).

Star Trek Online did a big environmental update that changed the Sector Space portion of the game into a more graphically pleasing and “natural” environment. Further, they upgraded their crafting system so that the players can build another 400 or so items. End result? My ship, the U.S.S. Iowa-B now has souped up weapons! I spent a lot of time crafting those Phasers and Photon Torpedo Launchers, and they were SO worth it!

If I may, here’s my usual gaming schedule (always subject to changes):

  • Monday Night – Lord of the Rings Online with a friend
  • Tuesday Night – Hanging out with a friend at his place, playing the flavor of the week
  • Wednesday Night – D&D Online with friends
  • Friday Night – Star Trek Online with friends
  • Saturday Night – D&D 4th Edition at a friend’s place
  • Every other Sunday – D&D 3.5 at another friend’s place

Hey, it keeps me busy!

Until next time! Keep on playing!

– Elorfin

P.S. My ship that you see above is named for the U.S.S. Iowa BB-61, the last lead ship of any class of United States battleships. My grandfather commissioned her in 1943 and served on her during World War II. “The Big Stick” is a source of pride in my family and my grandfather was quite tickled that I named my ship for the Iowa. If you look above, I even got the BB-61 on her somewhere.

P.P.S. “All you need to know is this. There are two kinds of games: games that I stop playing because I’ve been bored or frustrated into a state approaching rigor mortis, and games that I stop playing because I’ve just noticed I should have had dinner two hours ago.” – Zero Punctuation

P.P.P.S. I’m using Wikipedia links for my references because in the linked articles, there are links to other relevant sources for whatever I’m referencing. This makes things way easier on me and on you, the reader. Enjoy!

EDIT: December 24th, 1:45 AM – I just got off playing some Star Trek Online and the U.S.S. Iowa-B is looking spiffy with the addition of some cool new equipment. My friend and I refer to it as “Tronning out”. Enjoy!

She looks so awesome! Until  next time!

9 responses

  1. 😛 wampa kitty is in yo rebel base, nommin’ yo jedi [quote]

    December 19, 2010 at 6:29 PM

  2. Ron

    Hi El,

    I’m the Director Communications for the Pacific Battleship Center, a nonprofit group that is working to bring your grandfather’s ship, the USS-IOWA to the port of Los Angeles and open her up to the public. I would love to share a picture of your IOWA with our supporters, either on our Facebook Page or our blog.

    Do you have a good photo I could share?

    December 21, 2010 at 11:15 AM

    • Well, it’s mostly just screen captures from the game Star Trek Online, but sure, I’d be glad to share my Iowa screenshots with you. In fact, if you click on the pictures above, you will get a full 1280×800 resolution shot. I’ll add a couple of more screens to the post for your pleasure. All you need to do is click the picture you want, then click it again when it pops up on your screen to zoom all the way in, right click on the picture and select Save Image As.

      December 21, 2010 at 11:24 AM

  3. Ron

    Thanks, El.

    I’ll share a couple of these with the group and include a link back to this post.

    If the Navy awards the ship to us, you’ll have to travel to California to see where your grandfather used to work!

    Ron

    December 24, 2010 at 11:51 AM

  4. Ron

    Here you go!

    http://www.pacificbattleship.com/blog/2010/12/uss-iowa-space-battleship/

    R~

    December 24, 2010 at 2:05 PM

    • I’m flattered! Thank you very much! Oh, by the way… it’s Elorfin, not Elfin or Eldorfin. No problems though, I know who you’re talking about!

      December 24, 2010 at 7:33 PM

      • Ron

        Oops…sorry about the misspellings…I hate when I do that! I’m pretty sure that I fixed all of them in the blog post. And I’m glad we got to send a little traffic your way!

        Thanks for letting us use your images.

        January 3, 2011 at 11:24 PM

  5. Michael London

    Elorfin, your Star Battleship USS Iowa-B is EXCELLENT! As we know, Captain James Tiberius Kirk is from the State of Iowa himself (as shown in STAR TREK 11).

    If the Battleship USS Iowa BB-61 is awarded to the Pacific Battleship Center, and she is then berthed in Los Angeles Harbor at Pier 87 on the San Pedro Waterfront, why not bring your grandfather out to Southern California to visit her? The veterans who served aboard the USS Iowa are as much a national treasure as she is. Veterans like your grandfather HONOR the Battleship USS Iowa by visiting her, for they and she served together.

    I bet that your grandfather would really enjoy touring the ship with you, telling you stories of, for instance, “that happened over there”, or “we did this right here”, or simply “I remember…..” whatever. Since your grandfather was tickled by you naming your Starship “The USS Iowa-B”, he still feels affection for HIS ship, as most veterans do. He probably would LOVE to visit the Battleship USS Iowa BB-61 with you.

    Once again, Elorfin, my thanks to you for designing the Starship USS Iowa-B!

    December 24, 2010 at 3:19 PM

    • I would love to visit the Iowa some day. My grandfather has given me a tour of the USS Wisconsin in the past. Alas, I doubt his former station still exists as the Quad 40’s were removed from the Iowa thanks to the development of jet fighters! He can still point out where he worked though.

      I’ll be paying attention to news about the Iowa in the coming months. I’ll see if we can find our way to her!

      December 24, 2010 at 7:37 PM

Leave a Reply

