A thoughtful and personal exploration of games

Another Absence?


Wow, I haven’t written anything here in almost a month! That’s mostly because I’ve been very busy, but also because I’ve been playing a few games.

Articles you can expect in the near future: Hellgate: London, Lord of the Rings Online Free to Play Beta (yup, I’ve been in the beta and they lifted the NDA a little while ago), Star Trek Online (I’ve played the Demo they have), and a few more “great game” pieces that I’ve had bouncing around in my head.

The real issue is the muse. I’m waiting to hear back. *laughs* In the meantime, I’ll give you a brief overview of the topics mentioned above.

Hellgate: London – there’s a sad story behind the development of this game, but it’s a pretty darn good game. It scares the crap out of me every time I play it. I was involved in the beta back in 2007 and I still enjoy playing it. I finally knuckled down and started playing some more of it.

Lord of the Rings Online – I’m in the Free to Play Beta right now as Turbine attempts to take the same model they’re using for D&D Online and apply it to the Tolkien game. I’ve tried most of the classes and I’m loving the experience. They spent a lot of time on the environment and implementing the descriptions and such from the books. Altogether a very enjoyable game and I’m looking forward to when F2P goes live so I can play with my friends.

Star Trek Online – I’ve only played their Demo which gives access to the Federation Tutorial and the first quest, but I’m hooked (which I suppose was the idea of the demo). Further, the character and ship customization is fantastic. I’m loving space combat and ground combat is interesting as well… it’s also, tactical! *grins* I love this game for some reasons that I’ll go into later, but for now, just understand that it’s so much fun for me to play.

Further, the next part or two of my “What makes a great game?” series will be discussing player familiarity with the game world (essentially derived from my time playing Lord of the Rings Online) and the sense of belonging associated with that and I will also write about what drives me to buy a game (outside of the concepts behind them, advertising campaigns, artwork, developer discussions, etc.).

In the meantime, I’m trying to work up the mental steam to actually put words down for these articles. I have a D&D game to get to today and I’m going on a trip in the near future and don’t expect to be back for almost a week. I will, however, probably take a few games with me to keep me entertained along the way.

Okay, I’m off to get ready for the game! Until next time, keep playing!

– Elorfin

Leave a Reply

